Olin

Brooklyn, NY

#5080 Jan 18, 2013
Hi, I have been working as an OPI for several months now, however the company I work for does not have many medical clients (government agencies mostly). Now that I am trying to start signing in with more companies, I realize that most of the calls will be medical. I did pass some of the so called "tests", but do very well realize that it in no way makes me an expert in the field. I have been devouring the medical terminology recently and reading up on the conditions and rocedures. My medical backround comes down to my parents being doctors, but that's pretty much it. I would really appreciate some guidance from the older and seasoned members of this community, like MIDISymphony, Hopeful, Sam and others. Interpreting has always been my dream, I even have a formal education (bachelor's degree in translation from my home country). I never thought I would be doing it though, so I am now excited and determined to become good at this. Bottom line: what rocedures should I look up (read up about), please describe the most frequent types of medical calls you get (are those check ups or something more specific?) Do you recomend any particular glossaries/reference materials? Thanks so much for all your help, I am just very apprehensive and feel a lot of responsibility, as I realize, once you log in, you're on your own..
Hopeful

San Diego, CA

#5081 Jan 18, 2013
melina wrote:
ouch!!! PI is LLS now ,tears from my heart :(
Me too. Got the news and can not believe it either. Been working with PI for more than 6 years and now, not sure what the future will be?
Hopeful

San Diego, CA

#5082 Jan 18, 2013
Corona del Mar wrote:
Semi Hopeful,
LionBridge does pay well. Very well. They have everhthing, medical, fema, legal etc.
I would love that, however I have never had luck getting any respond from them. My ten years experience and degree does not mean anything to them. How are you doing darling? Long time no talk. How is our buddy from Ohaio?