Out of towner

Moneta, VA

#1 Dec 3, 2012
I am an officer from a jurisdiction out of the area, been an officer for about 20 years. I have been keeping up with the PGPD situation and received information the town was hiring all new officers. I was thinking about applying but I don't know the area or the people. All I see on here is bad publicity about the town/council/ etc. My question is if I should even apply for a position there?
LW Jackson

United States

#2 Dec 3, 2012
Out of towner wrote:
I am an officer from a jurisdiction out of the area, been an officer for about 20 years. I have been keeping up with the PGPD situation and received information the town was hiring all new officers. I was thinking about applying but I don't know the area or the people. All I see on here is bad publicity about the town/council/ etc. My question is if I should even apply for a position there?
We have a lot of good people in this town...We do have an over abundance of gossipers and several trouble makers....but what town doesn't!!!!
I think new blood would be good for the town
yes

Church Hill, VA

#3 Dec 3, 2012
for the most part, people are good here. there is a drug epidemic which i believe exists everywhere. yes you should apply. the sheriff, Gary Parsons is now in charge of the police dept in pennington. i am confident he will change the department and pennington for the better. he is a good sheriff, has been for a long time. he will hiring the new officers and he will not put up the crazy foolishness that has been in pennington and the police dept. yes apply
Out of towner

Saint Albans, WV

#4 Dec 3, 2012
Thank you. I agree, new blood may be a good idea. It is the same way here. No matter what happens, or how hard you try, the "good ol boys" syndrome sometimes sneaks in. Thanks again, believe I will apply
farmer mike

Knoxville, TN

#5 Dec 3, 2012
Out of towner wrote: