Hearing Loss Suits Hit Siren Manufacturer

A firefighter from North Arlington is among 400 in the state -- and nearly 5,000 nationwide -- who are suing a national siren manufacturer, alleging that exposure to the device's noise left them with hearing ... Full Story
Brett Ramer

New Albany, IN

#1 Jan 18, 2007
Im sorry, But I find it hard to believe that his is real. I am a firefighter myself , and I come from a long family history of firefighters, and I have never heard of anything like this in my life. To me, this sounds like a bunch of selfish people who think they are firfighters trying to get something for nothing. Let's think about this, if a siren is projecting noise ahead of the vehicle, and the vehicle is moving in a forward motion, then the vehicle is going to go through the path of the noise being made, just a thought. I may be wrong, but I think this sounds like a whole bunch of BULLSHIT, and that these people who claim to be Firefighters are losing focus on there jobs. It seems to me that they have gotten wrapped up in society where everybody wants something for nothing, and forgot why they do the job that they do. But that's just me. I know I have never heard of any kind of complaint like this before, and that this is rediculous.
PacificTheatre

Bayonne, NJ

#2 Apr 1, 2007
During WW2, air raid sirens and the ensuing attacks were stronger and longer lasting than a fresh cup of Colombian coffee in their mornings. Most of those veterans and women whom welded the ships no longer hear the police, ambulance and fire trucks through their neighborhoods when they were alive.
Brett Ramer wrote: