For gay youths, middle school can be ...

For gay youths, middle school can be toughest time

There are 6 comments on the Las Vegas Sun story from Oct 12, 2010, titled For gay youths, middle school can be toughest time. In it, Las Vegas Sun reports that:

By the time she was in eighth grade, Rory Mann was so aware of the differences between her and other students that she couldn't bear to enter the cafeteria.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Las Vegas Sun.

Not duped

Grove City, PA

#1 Oct 12, 2010
Hello!!! Middle school is the toughest time for EVERYONE.
bi-pride

New York, NY

#2 Oct 12, 2010
i know this all to well i am a freshmen in h.s. n it is hard, middle school was hard i was really learning what bisexuality was. i mean i had already accepted at a relativley young age 6-8 it wasnt abig deal girls were cute so were guys i liked both nothing was wrong withthat for me. when i started learning something was wrong with it was in 6th someone called me a dyke. i knew what that was i wasnt that i liked both and i hated that term for it being called a dyke was just bad i didnt like it. i had never thought of myself as bad or not right sexually wise i mean i was just discovering it but that word dyke it stayed with me. by 8th i was open but not flamboyant i didnt tell ppl but didnt hide it either(i had told a few teachers that i trusted and my parents) kids would call me dyke or p****eater it didnt faze me i had learned to ignore it. but now its different i had gotten threaten even had to fight a few times but me being black going to a basically black and hispanic school in my opinon is worse some black ppl believe it is a white ppl disease and sometime it gets hard, i would have to say h.s. is harder than junior h.s.
Shay

Santa Clara, CA

#3 Oct 12, 2010