Pa. couple both charged with drunken ...

Pa. couple both charged with drunken driving after solo car cra...

There are 6 comments on the South Florida Sun-Sentinel story from Jun 2, 2009, titled Pa. couple both charged with drunken driving after solo car cra.... In it, South Florida Sun-Sentinel reports that:

A western Pennsylvania husband and wife will enter a first-time offender program after both were charged with drunken driving in connection with the same car crash.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at South Florida Sun-Sentinel.

unclePete

United States

#1 Jun 2, 2009
They Kot-off easy.
mom of one

Miami, FL

#2 Jun 2, 2009
sense when does a SINGLE CAR accident have to be reported...

they are the only ones with vehicle damage...so they will report it too their insurance company....UNLESS the tree was damaged and wants to sue their insurance.....

????
DAS

Pompano Beach, FL

#3 Jun 2, 2009
Naaaaaaaaaaa Drunks are allowed and Smokers are Banned
Yosemite Sam

United States

#4 Jun 2, 2009
Their records will be expunged??? That means the next time will be their first time?
Doesn't sound like PA. takes DUI very seriously.
Brian

Philadelphia, PA

#5 Jun 2, 2009
Yosemite Sam - the way the PA 1st time offender's program works is they will have their records expunged after successfully completing the program. This means that the DUI will not appear on their criminal records, but it will still appear on their driving records for 10 years.

However, if either one of them gets another DUI within 10 years, it WILL be treated as a second offense because the state will still keep track of it even though it's been expunged and won't show up on a criminal background check.

Under PA law, if you go 10 years or more between a DUI, each DUI after that is treated as a 1st offense. I know this because I live in PA and know alot of people who went through the program. I guess we just have alot of drunks living in this state. Hope this cleared it up for ya.

- Brian
Yosemite Sam

United States

#6 Jun 3, 2009
Brian wrote:
Yosemite Sam - the way the PA 1st time offender's program works is they will have their records expunged after successfully completing the program. This means that the DUI will not appear on their criminal records, but it will still appear on their driving records for 10 years.
However, if either one of them gets another DUI within 10 years, it WILL be treated as a second offense because the state will still keep track of it even though it's been expunged and won't show up on a criminal background check.
Under PA law, if you go 10 years or more between a DUI, each DUI after that is treated as a 1st offense. I know this because I live in PA and know alot of people who went through the program. I guess we just have alot of drunks living in this state. Hope this cleared it up for ya.
- Brian
Thanks Brian. Still, there are many states that have no 'statute of limitations' on DUI's.
Not getting one for 10 years after the last one doesn't mean that the offender hasn't been doing it; just hasn't been caught.
Thanks again though for the explanation.

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

New Brighton Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
Courtnie Asburn can take one really deep in the V Jun '17 Jonathan 1
Where are my sugar daddys at (Sep '14) Apr '17 Visitor 6
Beaver Falls/Mayer China (Apr '10) Jan '17 Just me 21
News Two lawsuits filed against Monaca police officer (Sep '08) Dec '16 Annonomous 9
Is There Corruption in Beaver County? (Oct '09) Sep '16 yes 11
Rico Sanchez (May '10) Aug '14 Manga Figa 12
News Mom charged after son found wandering in bitter... (Mar '14) Mar '14 Mel 1

New Brighton Jobs

More from around the web

Personal Finance

New Brighton Mortgages