Tourists, Repeat Customers and Bad Se...

Tourists, Repeat Customers and Bad Service.

Posted in the Mount Dora Forum

Greg Wilson

Hialeah, FL

#1 Nov 21, 2011
I wanted to share a letter I sent to the owner of the Pisces Rising Restaurant in Mt Dora during the Antique Fare Weekend.
Dear Ms. Winters,
Now that I have had a couple of days to calm down I wanted to give you the facts of our bad evening at you establishment.
Within 10 minutes of our arrival we were asked by your GM if we would mind moving. A customer and his wife preferred our table and your GM wanted to accommodate them.
I informed him that we had made reservations earlier in the week for our wedding anniversary and I did not want to move.
The second part of the bad night were the appetizers. Two shrimp and two scallops floating in a mess of liquid and black beans. Yuk!
Then the dinner. We ordered the Grouper Blackened. After waiting for 40 minutes the server came out and informed us that they were out of Grouper. He told us that he substituted the
Grouper with Mahi-Mahi. We were a bit confused at this point that he would wait for 40 minutes before letting us know your restaurant was out of a staple item on your menu.
Another 40 minutes later and we were served our fish. The plates were swimming in the same fluids as the appetizer and the fish was not blackened per our request.
I tasted the fish and it was cold and mushy. It amounted to a convoluted mess. I called your GM back to the table and asked to speak to you as well. He said your were busy and off property.
I told him how this was a special occasion and how extremely upset I was. We were not going to wait any longer to have them re-make our meals.
Our anniversary comes along once a year. Your establishment is supposed to be one of the best in the area and supposed to be better than average. You failed in all aspects of service and performance.
Below average in all aspects would be an understatement. When you mess up this badly there is no excuse or justification. It should never get to the point of needing to make it up to the offended and injured party.
Your GM became defensive and argumentative when these things were pointed out. I would not return to your restaurant even if you were paying me to do so.
You are either a professional eating establishment or you are not. NEWS FLASH! You are not a professional eating establishment.
If you have a chance, go over to The Goblin and have dinner. You will be shocked at the difference in service and quality between you and them. You should be striving to please your guests the way they do.
After having a chance to read some of the online reviews on your place it looks like I am not the only one that has had this happen. You will eventually be out of business because people will not patronize an establishment that consistently falters in such a glaring way. It is my intention to tell everyone I know and to write many reviews on the internet attesting to the fact that you and your restaurant are not worthy of the public’s patronage.
When you cross the line of upsetting my spouse on our once a year special evening you will face my wrath. I look forward to the day of you closing the doors permanently.
Greg Wilson, Miami, FL
The Customer is always right and should be treated with respect.
In this terrible economy when money is so hard to come by, proprietors should try harder and not take the paying customers for granted
Joshua Jungferman

Eustis, FL

#2 Dec 8, 2011
The following was our response...

I would like to say first and foremost, I am disappointed that your experience was not top-notch. I would also, like the opportunity to address the criticisms in your review. You had dinner on Saturday, November 19. You made your reservation the two days prior, the Thursday before and requested a cozy table, which we had set aside for you. When you arrived our Hostess promptly seated you, but at the wrong table, not the cozy one we had selected for you. You were mistakenly seated at a table that was specifically reserved 3 weeks ago by a frequent Guest. Upon seeing this, I thought a logical solution would be to immediately let you know of the mistake and offer the other table for you. Upon which you responded that it was your Anniversary. I promptly withdrew my suggestion, and said that you should have any table you would like be it that one or another because of the occasion. I proffered my card and offered you complementary drinks for the occasion and the interruption. You accepted, and I went to get the chosen Cosmopolitan for you and your wife myself, and truly wished you a nice Anniversary. You selected a bottle of wine afterwards and appetizers. I was under the impression you enjoyed both, because when asked you said they were “great.” We serve only Fresh Seafood, and so we have daily deliveries, and consequently, we only get specific quantities of the different types of fish available. The whole point is to only serve Fresh Product, and not have anything left from the day before. For this reason we do not list the Fresh Fish on the menu, just the available preparations. The server then relays to the Guests what Fresh Fish we have. I apologize that we sold out of Grouper after you ordered it, and our Server should not have made the decision for you and switched to Mahi-mahi. I understand that coupled with that was the long cooking time. We were a Full House that night, and we make all of our dishes from scratch, and so this does take time. But, I agree that your dinner took longer than it should have, and it did not arrive Blackened like you requested. As soon as I was informed I approached you and your wife to offer a solution. I offered to prepare you another dish with priority, and you declined. You also, raised your voice and berated me in public for our mistake. I honestly admitted our mistake, and offered sincere apologies, and wanted nothing more than to amend the situation, and try to save your evening at whatever cost to us. I did not argue with you, and acknowledged our mistakes. Yet, you began to use profanity, and verbally attack me personally by calling me names in a very loud and aggressive way. You threatened to throw the tables over the railing. You offered no avenue for discourse or solution, and so I stood up, informed you that we would take care of your entire tab, and wished you a happy anniversary. I was distraught and disappointed that your night was not a success, but in my life have I never resorted to vulgar language and publicly berated someone for an honest mistake. In your review you think I should be FLOGGED (for a mistake), and you continue to show off your anemic vocabulary by your choice of diction. The only thing I would agree with you on is that The Goblin Market is a great restaurant in Mount Dora. We are both of the same cut, in that we care about the Guest Experience. We are not in competition, but we do have the same goals, which have nothing to do with each other and everything to do with our Guests, which is why I spent additional time at the tables around you after your departure apologizing and buying drinks to make amends for the commotion and the vulgar language used by yourself. Thank you for your time, and I truly do hope that you enjoyed some of your Anniversary Weekend in Mount Dora with your wife.

Joshua Jungferman
Pisces Rising
General Manager
Joshua Jungferman

Eustis, FL

#3 Dec 8, 2011
I would like to say first and foremost, I am disappointed that your experience was not top-notch. I would also, like the opportunity to address the criticisms in your review. You had dinner on Saturday, November 19. You made your reservation the two days prior, the Thursday before and requested a cozy table, which we had set aside for you. When you arrived our Hostess promptly seated you, but at the wrong table, not the cozy one we had selected for you. You were mistakenly seated at a table that was specifically reserved 3 weeks ago by a frequent Guest. Upon seeing this, I thought a logical solution would be to immediately let you know of the mistake and offer the other table for you. Upon which you responded that it was your Anniversary. I promptly withdrew my suggestion, and said that you should have any table you would like be it that one or another because of the occasion. I proffered my card and offered you complementary drinks for the occasion and the interruption. You accepted, and I went to get the chosen Cosmopolitan for you and your wife myself, and truly wished you a nice Anniversary. You selected a bottle of wine afterwards and appetizers. I was under the impression you enjoyed both, because when asked you said they were “great.” We serve only Fresh Seafood, and so we have daily deliveries, and consequently, we only get specific quantities of the different types of fish available. The whole point is to only serve Fresh Product, and not have anything left from the day before. For this reason we do not list the Fresh Fish on the menu, just the available preparations. The server then relays to the Guests what Fresh Fish we have. I apologize that we sold out of Grouper after you ordered it, and our Server should not have made the decision for you and switched to Mahi-mahi. I understand that coupled with that was the long cooking time. We were a Full House that night, and we make all of our dishes from scratch, and so this does take time. But, I agree that your dinner took longer than it should have, and it did not arrive Blackened like you requested. As soon as I was informed I approached you and your wife to offer a solution. I offered to prepare you another dish with priority, and you declined. You also, raised your voice and berated me in public for our mistake. I honestly admitted our mistake, and offered sincere apologies, and wanted nothing more than to amend the situation, and try to save your evening at whatever cost to us. I did not argue with you, and acknowledged our mistakes. Yet, you began to use profanity, and verbally attack me personally by calling me names in a very loud and aggressive way. You threatened to throw the tables over the railing. You offered no avenue for discourse or solution, and so I stood up, informed you that we would take care of your entire tab, and wished you a happy anniversary. I was distraught and disappointed that your night was not a success, but in my life have I never resorted to vulgar language and publicly berated someone for an honest mistake. In your review you think I should be FLOGGED (for a mistake), and you continue to show off your anemic vocabulary by your choice of diction. The only thing I would agree with you on is that The Goblin Market is a great restaurant in Mount Dora. We are both of the same cut, in that we care about the Guest Experience. We are not in competition, but we do have the same goals, which have nothing to do with each other and everything to do with our Guests, which is why I spent additional time at the tables around you after your departure apologizing and buying drinks to make amends for the commotion and the vulgar language used by yourself. Thank you for your time, and I truly do hope that you enjoyed some of your Anniversary Weekend in Mount Dora with your wife.

Joshua Jungferman
Pisces Rising
General Manager

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

Mount Dora Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
April Conde Tom Conde BB Elizabeth scotty Houl... Sep 17 dee 1
Power Sep 11 Nancy 1
I don't much care for deland (Mar '06) Sep 11 Sneezy 40
horring around for years! (Feb '09) Sep 8 None ya 4
Law enforcement caught Sep 3 The Peoples Media 9
Workin man blues Sep 3 Hank 4
News Snowbirds causing traffic congestion (Jan '16) Aug '17 sam 25

Mount Dora Jobs

More from around the web

Personal Finance

Mount Dora Mortgages