cowboy

United States

#1 Feb 28, 2013
I am a viet-nam veteran and a former US MARINE . I went to the VA clinic today , in Leesville . To have my spinal injury treated , I am 100 % disabled .
I was refused treatment !! I was told that under the new administration , I was reclassified to 8G . I was told the decision was based on my income . Please believe me . I am not looking for a handout !! I feel as if I earned and deserve the right to medical care by the veterans administration . It Was Promised To Me , Just as it has been promised to all of the other veterans that spilled their blood on the battle field .
wow

Paragould, AR

#2 Feb 28, 2013
I have to say we have never had that issue

Since: Feb 12

Leesville Louisiana

#3 Feb 28, 2013
There's no such thing as a "former" MARINE!

“Come on, really?”

Since: Oct 12

Location hidden

#4 Feb 28, 2013
Go to the VA hospital in Alexandria and talk to Comp and Pension. Once you get past C&P you should be able to use the CBOC at Ft. Polk for care. You also need to go see Yuri Crockett, the VA Representative for Vernon Parish. The number can be found in the phone book. He can assist you with what you need to do to get care if it is possible. Bottom line is that you need service connected to get primary care through VA OR fall under an income level to not be able to get private insurance care. If you are 100% service connected disabled, you do not meet the criteria for 8G. The criteria for 8G is income/worth AND service connection. C&P should have records of your disability and service medical records.
The VA Medical system did not change as a result of the current administration, this changed in 2003 but again does not pertain to your situation if you have a service connected injury. Sounds to me that someone made a mistake or you have not registered through VA in Alexandria to get primary care. This is your first step. You cannot go directly to CBOC Ft. Polk without registering at VAMC Alexandria first.