Fight the Texas Driver Responsibility...
MikeC

Dallas, TX

#104 Nov 5, 2010
First of all Ms. Im better then you for being a republican and coming from a rich family bitch,(desi) why are you even on this website making comments when nothing on here concerns you. Do us all a favor and just go back to the caribbean and choke on your hotel bell hops dick. I got pulled over with valid insurence and a valid dl, but I couldn't find my insurence card. I get the ticket and go to court with proof of insurence and still got slapped with a surcharge. So yes it is excessive and again choke on a dick desi.
Wowo

Katy, TX

#105 Nov 19, 2010
Ha
Desi

Pearland, TX

#106 Nov 24, 2010
MikeC wrote:
First of all Ms. Im better then you for being a republican and coming from a rich family bitch,(desi) why are you even on this website making comments when nothing on here concerns you. Do us all a favor and just go back to the caribbean and choke on your hotel bell hops dick. I got pulled over with valid insurence and a valid dl, but I couldn't find my insurence card. I get the ticket and go to court with proof of insurence and still got slapped with a surcharge. So yes it is excessive and again choke on a dick desi.
Mikey......you sound like white trailer trash.

Why do I care......I don't want you on the roads without insurance, incase your drunk and hit someone.

Oh, by the way.......I sure enjoyed the trip to the caribbean, planning another couple of weeks in January and February.......save your money punk ......to pay your surcharges and fines.
chad

Mifflinburg, PA

#107 Dec 14, 2010
Amanda wrote:
After reading the Texas Driver Responsibility Law, I don't think I have any problem with it. Then again, I don't drive without insurance, my child rides in a proper child restraint device, I never drink and drive, and I don't normally speed (because my husband swears driving slower saves gas).
From what I read, points are applied to a driver's license for class c misdemeanor moving violations, and remain for three years. If a driver accumulates six points in a three year period, then DPS collects a surcharge from the driver.
Violations like driving without insurance are not subject to points, but rather require an annual surcharge. The surcharge varies by crime, but driving without insurance is $250 per year for three years.
Sorry, I wanted to be sympathetic, but the law doesn't seem unreasonable. Consider not breaking the law in the future.
The Texas Constitution
Article 1 - BILL OF RIGHTS
Section 13 - EXCESSIVE BAIL OR FINES; CRUEL AND UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT; REMEDY BY DUE COURSE OF LAW
Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel or unusual punishment inflicted. All courts shall be open, and every person for an injury done him, in his lands, goods, person or reputation, shall have remedy by due course of law.

Of course deciding if a fine is excessive is a matter of perspective. If you make a lot of money; you may consider adding another $250.00 dollar a year fine to somebody for not having automobile insurance a small penalty. I have to ask you though Amanda, do you truly believe that there is any significant number of people who are currently uninsured that remain uninsured by choice? I will suggest that it is most logical the vast majority of uninsured drivers are NOT uninsured by choice but rather by inability to afford it. I'm sure such people exist, some kind of strange thrill to purposely drive around in defiance of the law. I would suggest again that would represent a tiny minority of uninsured drivers and the reality more likely that most uninsured drivers are doing so constantly in fear and a state of stress they may be stopped and caught.

I'm not suggesting they be allowed to get away with comitting crime, but I'm outright stating that increasing their obligation by $250.00/year is likely NOT GOING TO INCREASE the percentage of insured drivers. If they couldn't afford it in the first place; increasing it by another essentially $20/month is going to help decrease the number of uninsured drivers.
lex

Plano, TX

#108 Dec 18, 2010
well as is no way to really effectively fight the government....cant fight the state either.....this recession we are in got everyone looking for tricks to pull up some change anyway they can..... i mean police hiding away at these trick lights( which you cant help but run) set to where lights are changing red before you can stop and there goes cops with the ticket

All i can say is get a license from another state and just have to wait out the point deduction to where you get reinstated
Ban_hammer

Midland, TX

#109 Feb 17, 2011
Desi : FailTroll = Fail
Desi

Pearland, TX

#110 Feb 20, 2011
Don't drive drunk, don't drive without insurance and you won't have to worry about paying any surcharges. You might have to give up afew cold beers to pay them, but so be it.

You can always pawn the wheels off your trailer.

Pay up and stop your crying !
kinko

Forney, TX

#111 May 25, 2011
mousephart wrote:
I have a question for you. since when is it a constitutional right to drive? I believe driving is a privilege, not a right. If you can find the section of the constitution, I'm sure there are lots of folks out here that would like to see it.
Yes, it is a privilege to drive but it is our right to be informed by our accuser/ a charge that is being held against us additionally by our goverment. If you pay the ticket and are not given notice of further obligations it is illegal to fine someone for something they were not made aware of. How would u feel if u went into a restaurant and returned to fine your car towed with no, "No parking" sign anywhere? I imagine you would fight that in court ! Now look at the people (I've never had a surcharge) who admit they were in the wrong pay for the fine and are NOT informed of this "necessary" extra charge?! This is a slap in the face for people who have actually been responsible and compliant with trying to follow the law... Lol it's like double jeopardy, a complete rip off and scam, only established to cushion our greedy politicians and their budget issues! Its no wonder Texas has such a large "bell out" budget( bell out who again, because we know its not going to us already).
kinko

Forney, TX

#112 May 25, 2011
Desi wrote:
<quoted text>
Mikey......you sound like white trailer trash.
Why do I care......I don't want you on the roads without insurance, in case your drunk and hit someone.
Oh, by the way.......I sure enjoyed the trip to the caribbean, planning another couple of weeks in January and February.......save your money punk ......to pay your surcharges and fines.
Desi I agree with Mike! You're obviously the poor white trash though, your parents couldn't even afford the education to teach your there is a difference between your and you're so you most certainly can not hang in this conversation. Mike, the surcharges are out of this world! You are right they are excessive and guess what?! When it's appealed in (court especially with the warrant rounds up in texas) all they will get is a slap on the wrist. They are doing it for as long as they can and they know it's violating our constitutional rights!
kinko

Forney, TX

#113 May 25, 2011
Amanda wrote:
After reading the Texas Driver Responsibility Law, I don't think I have any problem with it. Then again, I don't drive without insurance, my child rides in a proper child restraint device, I never drink and drive, and I don't normally speed (because my husband swears driving slower saves gas).
From what I read, points are applied to a driver's license for class c misdemeanor moving violations, and remain for three years. If a driver accumulates six points in a three year period, then DPS collects a surcharge from the driver.
Violations like driving without insurance are not subject to points, but rather require an annual surcharge. The surcharge varies by crime, but driving without insurance is $250 per year for three years.
Sorry, I wanted to be sympathetic, but the law doesn't seem unreasonable. Consider not breaking the law in the future.
I can't wait untill your children are driving, then we'll see how fair you really think it is... Once you've done a little brain work. These surcharges are given to first time offenders as well. It's given to people whose insurance is still active but they may not have had their card to prove it at the time. The surcharges are given to random individuals ( they can pick and choose). Texas says it does not have to inform you of the surcharges as well ( just a way for them to be less organized, under the radar and corrupt). I don't think you remember the U.S. Constitution or the bill of rights matter of fact any of the texas bill of rights my friend! I am sure you have been taken advantage of a few times. It's against the law to be held accountable for the same crime twice (double jep), it's a form of cruel and unusaul punishment due to how excessive it is, it violates the equal under due process law ( since they can choose who to apply it to) and it violates texas constract laws ( they say they don't have to inform us the people).
Sam

Santa Ana, CA

#114 Aug 25, 2011
I had insurance but the card just expired. So I now have to pay a surcharge. Thiefs. Legal crooks if you ask me.
Amanda wrote:
After reading the Texas Driver Responsibility Law, I don't think I have any problem with it. Then again, I don't drive without insurance, my child rides in a proper child restraint device, I never drink and drive, and I don't normally speed (because my husband swears driving slower saves gas).
From what I read, points are applied to a driver's license for class c misdemeanor moving violations, and remain for three years. If a driver accumulates six points in a three year period, then DPS collects a surcharge from the driver.
Violations like driving without insurance are not subject to points, but rather require an annual surcharge. The surcharge varies by crime, but driving without insurance is $250 per year for three years.
Sorry, I wanted to be sympathetic, but the law doesn't seem unreasonable. Consider not breaking the law in the future.
Paul

Pasadena, TX

#115 Aug 30, 2011
Harley Livingston wrote:
<quoted text>If you ever read the constitution it states that a american citizen has the right to travel on any open road or highway without "permission" for the purpose of travel or transporting personal goods, thats the problem its dumbasses like you that mess america up "ITS A PRIVALAGE" get real just like the "fact" we have the freedom of speech tell that to a judge.. america is falling fast and nobody seems to give shit that I say is unamerican the government is the terrorists they are terrorizing the american people
That's not in the constitution. When you read something like that on the internet, I suggest you read the constitution for yourself.

“Fight the TX Driver Respon Law”

Since: Mar 08

Austin, TX

#117 Apr 13, 2012
The newsletter is out and if you want a copy, just email me.

Thanks, Mary
http://facebook.com/FighttheTXDRL
[email protected]
Jon

San Antonio, TX

#119 Jul 10, 2012
Amanda wrote:
After reading the Texas Driver Responsibility Law, I don't think I have any problem with it. Then again, I don't drive without insurance, my child rides in a proper child restraint device, I never drink and drive, and I don't normally speed (because my husband swears driving slower saves gas).
From what I read, points are applied to a driver's license for class c misdemeanor moving violations, and remain for three years. If a driver accumulates six points in a three year period, then DPS collects a surcharge from the driver.
Violations like driving without insurance are not subject to points, but rather require an annual surcharge. The surcharge varies by crime, but driving without insurance is $250 per year for three years.
Sorry, I wanted to be sympathetic, but the law doesn't seem unreasonable. Consider not breaking the law in the future.
I have no moving violations, only technical ones (like registration and inspection) which if I had the money to title and register my car things would be great. I lost my license for non-moving violations. What if you could get points for things like burnt out taillights or not using your turn signal? I am sure you are the perfect driver so this wouldn't bother you. Right?
Louisiana bound

Lewisville, TX

#120 Jul 11, 2012
Well at 1st i thought ignoring it or maybe they would overturn this bill but i just give up... i figure only way you can keep driving in this state is you go to another state a get a license or just say F$%k Texas go back to Louisiana which this law dont exsist.......my license been suspended for over a year now and some asshole cops will take you in for that...so F^&K Texas i'm sorry that's how i feel
FightTheTxDriverRespLaw wrote:
Hello everyone! The TX Driver Responsibility Law is a very little known law that requires Texans to pay over $700.00 (if you pay upfront) for certain traffic violations and/or points.
I received a ticket four years ago for having no car insurance. I did the crime and paid the fine. I was released from all fines and fees from the TX DPS. However, the TX DRL gives the TX DPS the right to require over $700 MORE from me and suspend my Driver's License if I don't pay. TX DPS doesn't have to notify me and I can't seem to find the appeal process. This is a violation of our constitutional rights!
For more information and to join the fight:
website:
http://www.myspace.com/fightthetxresponsibili...
e-mail:
fightthetxresponsibilityprogra [email protected]
and sign the petition at: www.petitiononline.com/TXDRP07/petition.html
Now, I understand this is a public forum and I encourage everyone to voice their opinion. Without you, I can't improve the campaign. However, please respect EVERYONE on this board.
Thank You for your support and consideration, Mary Moody
Rocky Bass

Crosby, TX

#121 Jul 15, 2012
mousephart wrote:
I have a question for you. since when is it a constitutional right to drive? I believe driving is a privilege, not a right. If you can find the section of the constitution, I'm sure there are lots of folks out here that would like to see it.
Wait a little while and you will need a license to FART!
A license is a permit that makes conditionally, something legal that would otherwise be illegal. In what year was it made illegal to travel by automobile? Just think a minute folks, horse and buggy required no license and was considered a right. They will say that the auto is special because it's dangerous. Bull$hit, horse and buggies were many times more dangerous per passenger/mile traveled! Teams of 1500+ pound animals with steel shod feet and minds of their own who bit and kicked and trampled pedestrians.
To say travel in the means of the day is not a right is police state horse hockey.
rob

Justin, TX

#122 Jul 21, 2012
I have gotten a no insurance ticket and it was not my fault when insurance companies want to have a pic before you can get insurance and the insurance I got was 10 mins after the ticket so under the law the ticket should have been dismissed but because the judge thought he would make a example out of me I had to pay the fine no texas duppends my license and never even notified me and a year and a half later I was pulled over and was told I was going to jail for something I had no idea was going on so how do you fight the law when they are the one violating them ????
Desi

Pearland, TX

#124 Jul 23, 2012
rob wrote:
I have gotten a no insurance ticket and it was not my fault when insurance companies want to have a pic before you can get insurance and the insurance I got was 10 mins after the ticket so under the law the ticket should have been dismissed but because the judge thought he would make a example out of me I had to pay the fine no texas duppends my license and never even notified me and a year and a half later I was pulled over and was told I was going to jail for something I had no idea was going on so how do you fight the law when they are the one violating them ????
If your going to drive without insurance and drive drunk then you deserve the fines and surcharges. Why are you so special you think you shouldn't have insurance ?

“Fight the TX Driver Respon Law”

Since: Mar 08

Austin, TX

#126 Jul 19, 2013
The TX DRL is set to be repealed this year, Sept 1st. I got updates on my YouTube channel and FB page. Congratulations!
Desi

Vero Beach, FL

#127 Jul 19, 2013
Just pay your fines and surcharges and stop your crying. Those of us who have insurance and don't drive drunk don't have issues with the law.

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

League City Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
News Harvey volunteer claims church fired her for be... Tue Art Fart 17
Review: I Love Kickboxing (Jul '16) Sep 13 Package ur farts 31
Jeffery cross Sep 7 U Farted 4
News The Latest: Officials: Water release won't swel... Sep 3 Fart soup 4
Mobile Hospital setup at Dickinson High School Aug 30 Got farts 2
hurricane damage (Sep '08) Aug 29 Replenish farts 65
Bentwood Subdivision Aug 28 Fart Xylophone 4

League City Jobs

More from around the web

Personal Finance

League City Mortgages