Reading effort is one for the books - News

Principals say it is the biggest draw they have ever had, pulling in crowds of families to public schools in the evenings. Full Story
Rasta Man

Honolulu, HI

#1 Nov 24, 2008
It is a sad, sad, sad day when educators need to use pizza to bribe parents and children to read. Who are they kidding? They know very well that without the pizza, nobody would show up. It's like rewarding a dog after he does a trick. "Roll over Rover, good boy, here's your biscuit". "Read, Johnny, good boy, here's your slice of pizza."

BTW - I thought the DOE initiated a rule to band junk food from schools?
J Jones

Chesterton, IN

#2 Nov 24, 2008
I love it! I'm a reading teacher in Indiana. I think I'll try to get something like this started in my school!
Rasta Man

Honolulu, HI

#3 Nov 24, 2008
J Jones wrote:
I love it! I'm a reading teacher in Indiana. I think I'll try to get something like this started in my school!
Using food to get kids to do something...Does Pavlov's Dog ring a bell? Kids will see books, and they'll start drooling for pizza. Great way to motivate kids - do this and we'll give you this.

Why not INSPIRE kids and their parents to read on their own??!! Not bribing them with pizza! What is wrong with this world? Keep doing this, and what you'll end up with is literate, obese kids.

What Pizza Hut is doing with their Reading campaigns is a marketing scheme. Get the kids liking Pizza Hut pizzas at a young age, because they will become customers as adults. SAD, SAD, SAD.

Since: Sep 08

Honolulu

#4 Nov 24, 2008
So, with the reduction in PE in schools, lets increase the carbohydrate intake as a way to increase reading. We will eventually get some Large Lumpy kids that need to be bribed to doing anything on their own.
Rasta Man

Honolulu, HI

#5 Nov 24, 2008
KAzman wrote: