Proposal Would Make Driving Without License a Felony in Georgia

Jan 23, 2007 Read more: Wjxx.com 46
A bill approved by a Senate committee would make driving without obtaining a license in Georgia punishable with jail time. Read more
First Prev
of 3
Next Last
Kyky

United States

#41 Nov 20, 2010
I was in an accident last year. (not my fault) cop ran my license and told me it was suspended. Aparently I had received a ticket by mail 2 years ago at one of those stoplights that snaps your pic. I never received it in the mail. Of course the cop didn't believe me. He was so happy to take my license right there. I own my own business and have no family in town to cart me around everywhere. I drove without a license every day in fear until I could get it back. I can't imagine the horror if this stupid law was in place and I had gotten caught. My life would be over. You can't accomplish anything worthwhile with a felony slapped on your record.
MAR99SHE

United States

#42 Dec 6, 2010
Driving WO a License wrote:
I am 24 and from Alabama. I had my license suspended on points in Alabama and was pulled over three more times with a suspended license going to and from work. I moved to GA to take a job near Atlanta and was caught in a roadblock and taken to jail, and another time I was traveling from GA to AL to see family and pulled over to take a nap and was stopped and taken to jail for no license. Now I have two pending driving w/o a license charges in GA in conjunction with the three previous in AL. I recently found out that this is a felony in GA and I am scared shitless. Alabama never made a big deal about it and I just paid my fine and went on. I've paid about $3000 to attorneys in GA to help me get off. I am eligible to get my AL license back in April of '09 and one lawyer says that if I get it back before the court date I may have a less severe penalty. I've stopped driving completely now, but does anyone have any additional advice, or know someone who has been through multiple driving without a license cases in GA? I'm pretty curious. I've got three kids and a felony would ruin my career and jail time would devestate my family.
Hello my husband just got arrested while he was at probation he viloted his probation by getting stop by the police 2 weeks ago this is his 5 time . he goes to court on tuesday it is a felony here in ga I think he is going to do some time. I have 2 children and you need a 2income to make it down here dont know what I am going to do.
jerzeypro

United States

#43 Jul 9, 2012
I caught more than 3 suspended license charges in geogia and now the prosicuter talkin bout 60 days
Lodell

Rising Fawn, GA

#44 Jul 1, 2013
I went to jail the officer said my license was suspended I didnt even know it my 18 year old has her license and was right there instead of just letting her take over driving he takes me to jail and lets her drive off with my car the officer had a stick up his ass when he got out his car to begin with and it wasnt me he pulled over to begin with it was my boyfriend but bcuz I was following him he wanted to see my license too,this is my first offense I think it was uncalled for and unfair the officer did not need to do that just bcuz he didnt get none the night before.what was shocking was even the staff said why didnt he just let you go all I could say was beats me thats state troopers for you
Lodell

Rising Fawn, GA

#45 Jul 1, 2013
eHow
Legal
Driving Laws
General Driving Laws
Can You Go to Jail for Driving Without a License?
Penalties for Driving Without a Valid License
First Conviction
The first conviction for driving without a license in the state of Georgia is a misdemeanor. A fine in the range of $500 to $1,000 may be imposed. Fines also apply in cases where defendants enter a nolo contendere (no contest) plea.
Second and Third Convictions
A second or third conviction is considered a high and aggravated misdemeanor. The fines increase to a range of $1,000 to $2,500. The convictions must occur within a five-year period to be considered together.
Sponsored Links
Criminal Arrest Records
1) Enter Name - Search Free! 2) Get a Criminal Background Check.
CriminalRecords.PeopleSmart.com
Fourth Conviction
A fourth conviction for driving without a license is a felony. A fine from $2,500 to $5,000 may be imposed. Each conviction after the fourth is treated in the same way as the fourth conviction, with a fine in the same range. The convictions must occur within a five-year period to be counted together.
Read more: http://www.ehow.com/facts_7437429_fines-licen...
MAR99SHE wrote:
<quoted text>Hello my husband just got arrested while he was at probation he viloted his probation by getting stop by the police 2 weeks ago this is his 5 time . he goes to court on tuesday it is a felony here in ga I think he is going to do some time. I have 2 children and you need a 2income to make it down here dont know what I am going to do.
Driver

Paducah, KY

#46 Dec 7, 2014
you people are crazy wrote:
you people are crazy-driving is a priveledge not a right. The point is .... if you hurt someone you will be put in jail for manslaughter.Not to mention that you cannot obtain insurance without a license which is the law to protect other people.How will you pay for the injured persons medical costs. other people should not suffer the consequences of your failure to be resonsible.
You do not have to have a driver's license to get insurance on a car. My mother was legally blind from the time she was a teenager. She never had a driver's license. Yet she owned a car and had insurance on it. She hired whoever she could get to do the driving for her, usually some high school girl.

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker
First Prev
of 3
Next Last

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

Kennesaw Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
extortion 7 hr bob 1
News Psychiatric patients are vulnerable when state ... (Jun '07) 8 hr Lone Friend 14
Teachers Sun Childrenfirst 5
Adulterous Teachers in Paulding (Apr '13) Apr 18 Childrenfirst 4
Bethany Place (Oct '12) Apr 17 secret squirrel 425
Anyone want to hang out Apr 14 Marvelprincess 1
Review: SK Auto Body Repair Apr 14 drshaw3328 4
More from around the web

Kennesaw People Search

Addresses and phone numbers for FREE

Personal Finance

Mortgages [ See current mortgage rates ]