Mr. Jim's Hole in the Ground

Posted in the Katy Forum

First Prev
of 3
Next Last
Katy Diner

Montgomery, TX

#1 Feb 5, 2010
I am a long time Katy resident, and being a widower, I eat out most nights. I recently heard about a new place called Mr. Jim's off of I-10 across from the mall. When i walked in, I was afraid it was a bar, which it is, but it is moreso a burger joint. I was very happy that i stopped in. The burger is the best that i have had in Katy. The fries are fresh cut and the beer was ice cold. I have been back at least three time a week since. The owners are there every day and are as nice as can be. After talking to them i found out the name of the place comes from Jim Rose, a man that lived in Katy most of his life and helpd start the Katy FFA. The bartenders are nice. Chris has worked in a few of the different watering holes around Katy for years and knows here stuff. Natasha is young and does text a lot but seems to be very nice. Amanda is the nicest of the bunch and interacts very well with me and the others that are eating and drinking. Christine can be a little standoffish and does not seem like she really enjoys what she does but then she is the bosses wife so i think her job is safe. I really recommed this place for the food, cold beer and the company.
Katy Dave

Montgomery, TX

#2 Feb 6, 2010
You hit the nail on the head pretty much with all your statements. The burgers on the jalapeno bun are as good as it gets in Houston, much less Katy, but their steaks on Thursdays are increadible. I have only had it once but it was one of the best ribeyes I have had. I agree on the staff, even though I have not been their when Chritine is working I have heard that from a couple of friends of mine. I will be back for sure.
5 man crew

Montgomery, TX

#3 Feb 6, 2010