Nurses - MSHA or Wellmont?

Posted in the Johnson City Forum

First Prev
of 2
Next Last
just askin

Kingsport, TN

#1 Dec 12, 2010
Does anyone know how much MSHA and/or Wellmont starts out paying their nurses? I hear something different from every person and starting salaries can't be THAT different. When I say nurse, I mean RN.

Does having a BSN make any difference?

I have a degree but I'm thinking about going back to school for nursing and applying for the scholarship - either at wellmont or msha. So, I'd have a BSN.

It seems like in other parts of the country nurses are easily making $30 an hour and I know it's nowhere near that here (to start). Why do nurses stay here and settle for low pay?
been to both

Lenoir City, TN

#2 Dec 16, 2010
It depends on how much they like you at Wellmont or MSHA. Men tend to make more than women. The average new grad is making $18-21/ hr at either place. Experienced nurses tend to make less (go figure) unless they are well connected.
The area is saturated with new grads all the time. Therefore the only shortage either facility ever has is created themselves by running staff off. There is no need for them to improve their employment practices (like pay) because they can always fill positions.
Nursing is a great career in other parts of the country and both of these facilities can give you some very good experience that you wouldn't get other places. However, if you are looking to feel fulfilled in your career or appreciated as a professional, as a nurse, you should get the experience then leave this area or go back to school for your masters. Even with a masters though the professional perks are much less in this area than the rest of the country, especially out west. Many BSN's get their experience then go into travel nursing.
just askin

Kingsport, TN

#3 Dec 16, 2010