Asheville Vs. Johnson City

Asheville Vs. Johnson City

Posted in the Johnson City Forum

Discgolfforlife

Johnson City, TN

#1 Jul 28, 2014
I'm contemplating moving here to Johnson City, or possible Asheville. Does anyone have pro/con ideas about either city? Btw... I'm a recent college graduate from a small town in Kentucky.
Small Town

Kingsport, TN

#2 Jul 29, 2014
A lot of it depends on what your degree is in. If you are into business with a degree and a whole lot of money, Johnson City is your place, but only as a self employed businessman, not a worker. Of course you must have learned how to play the game, with favors and greasy palms to satisfy the local game callers. Not that a degree is needed, only the money and connections to make it work. Johnson City is a businessman's town. There are enough eateries to feed Ethiopia here and the city gets their cut of it all.
As for Asheville, it's a more eclectic city, more open to creativity, old money and tourists, etc. Like I say, it is all dependent on your skills, initiative, and money to back it up, either way. I live in Johnson City, but Asheville sounds better every day. What's your ambition? Just be sure to have money in either town.
Randy

Boiling Springs, SC

#3 Jul 29, 2014
It really does depend where you can make a good living. If your job opportunities are about the same I would choose Ashville. But I think Ashvilles cost of living is a little higher.
Tn stud

Bowling Green, KY

#4 Jul 29, 2014
Randy wrote:
It really does depend where you can make a good living. If your job opportunities are about the same I would choose Ashville. But I think Ashvilles cost of living is a little higher.
Thanks, I really appreciate your input. So from what you are suggesting, Johnson City is more of a career town, vs. Asheville a more laid-back retirement community?
turtleman

Jonesborough, TN

#5 Jul 31, 2014
Asheville if you like dozens of restaurants that serve tofu.
Small Town

Kingsport, TN

#6 Aug 1, 2014