Prison staff records sought to defend inmate in officer's death

Full story: Baltimore Sun

Defense lawyers for an inmate accused in the stabbing death of a correctional officer at a Jessup prison argued in court today that they should be given personnel and disciplinary records of fellow officers.
Comments
1 - 17 of 17 Comments Last updated Mar 6, 2008
mumbakiss

Nashville, TN

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 4, 2008

That story makes me cringe, Im a corrections nurse. I guess all the stuff we dont want to believe is true-- our coworkers would kill us for a buck. Nice.
black ceaser

Halethorpe, MD

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 4, 2008

I HOPE THAT THE PUBLIC CAN SEE THAT THESE INDIVIDUALS ARE LYING AND ARE DECEITFUL. THEY HAVE ALL DAY TO THINKOF NEW WAYS TO GET OVER THE SYSTEM. THE DEFENSE IS GOING TO USE ANY TACTIC POSSIBLE TO DOWN PLAY THE LIFE AND CAREER OF OFFICER MCGUINN. HE SERVED UNDER ME AND HE WAS A GREAT OFFICER . ALSO THE ONES THAT WERE PREVIOUSLY IMPLICATED. CORRECTIONAL OFFICER HAVE A HARD JOB THAT NO ONE LIKES TO DO. FOCUS ON THE DEATH AND MURDER OF THE OFFICER AND NOT THE CORRUPTION. THERE IS CORRUPTION IN ALL FORMS OF GOVERNMENT, MILITARY, COURTS AND THE LIST GO ON. ATTORNEY LAUGH IN JOKE MAKE DEALS NOT REALLY THINKING OF THE FAMILY OF THE VICTIM. WALK IN A CORRECTIONAL OFFICERS SHOES FOR ONE DAY WITHOUT THEM MAKING THE INSTITUTIONS PRETTY AND ON BEST BEHAVIOR FOR THESE SPECIAL TOURS BEFORE YOU CONDEM AN OFFICER. BRING JUSTICE TO A MAN THAT DEDICATED HIS LIFE AND CAREER FOR BETTERMENT OF HIS FELLOW CO-WORKERS
Gordon Brown

United States

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 4, 2008

So you put 50 murderers on one tier and then are surprised when someone is murdered??? Mary Jo is a winner.

RE: "BRING JUSTICE TO A MAN THAT DEDICATED HIS LIFE AND CAREER FOR BETTERMENT OF HIS FELLOW CO-WORKERS." I thought they were supposed to be there for the betterment of the inmates.