YMCA celebrates 150 years

YMCA celebrates 150 years

There are 477 comments on the Jacksonsun.com story from Oct 13, 2007, titled YMCA celebrates 150 years. In it, Jacksonsun.com reports that:

Past YMCA president Charlie Barnett recalls when swimming in the nude was acceptable at what was once called the YMCA of Jackson.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Jacksonsun.com.

First Prev
of 24
Next Last
Minnesota

AOL

#1 Feb 25, 2008
Believe it or not there was a time, not THAT long ago, when almost all American swimming was done in the nude.

From probably age 8 up I swam at the YMCA . I swam outside at summer camp. I swam in gym class in high school. I swam in a (mandatory) gym class while in college in Chicago.

And never during ANY of that swimming did I ever wear or even see a swim suit.(Though in College they made us wear caps over our heads so our hair wouldn't clog the pool).

This was all in the Midwestern United States of America - and I graduated from college in the early 1970s.

And I'm given to understand that my older brothers, my dad, my grandpa, and probably even my great grandpa, all experienced pretty much the same thing.

Sometime - maybe it was during the Reagan administration - this country experienced some sort of very dramatic shift in cultural attitudes about nude swimming because, I know, people now find this inconceivable, maybe even shocking.

But believe me - naked swimming was absolutely once the norm in America (at least among boys).
Northern Illinois

Highland Park, IL

#2 Mar 3, 2008
Minnesota wrote:
Believe it or not there was a time, not THAT long ago, when almost all American swimming was done in the nude.
From probably age 8 up I swam at the YMCA . I swam outside at summer camp. I swam in gym class in high school. I swam in a (mandatory) gym class while in college in Chicago.