Skinny Rich, Dirty Dill, Seldom Seen ...
First Prev
of 2
Next Last
REB

Mira Loma, CA

#21 Sep 7, 2008
Mike Stone wrote:
Gary Hunt and Gary Dye were a year behind me. I can't remember the names of some of the others. To me, the 60's were the best years. But then I graduated in 67' and moved to the Central Valley and lived there until I moved to Kansas in January. Ran across several of my classmates over the years while moving around the Valley.
I graduated w/your brother, I agree those were great years.
joe

United States

#22 Mar 12, 2009
on my mind wrote:
Have anyone around grew up in trona in the 80's
i grew up in Trona from 70 to 90
Fred III

Seattle, WA

#23 Jun 16, 2009
The last time I saw Skinny Rich was up at the Ruth Mine around 1963. He was bust stripping the mine. He had bought some stuff from the mine at a Sherifs sale. The was a big Fairbanks Moorse compressor that had been at the mine since the 1930s. When I got up to the mine he had torn it apart and to get the bearings out of it for scrap. My grandad was in Trona from the very early 1900s until his death around 1956. I spent summers in Trona at my grand parents. I use to follow Lee Bernhearty around. He was about as cool as they came in the 1950s. Cut the belt loops of his jeans and used motor oil in his duck tail. I remember there was a young guy that worked at bthe plant that had a new red and chrome BSA. Lee eventually married one of the Anderews Sisters rom the singing group. Seldom Seen Slim had and old ww-2 jeep. Ted Lang had a gas station in Argus. He and my grandad and Slim were all interested in GOLD. Trona was a great place for a kid to spend the summers. I learned to swim at Valley Wells and Mrs. Leeat taught me to write. I got my first couple of flying lessons at Trona.
GARY HAMMONDS

Phelan, CA

#24 Aug 28, 2010