Moving to TC from Alpena

Posted in the Interlochen Forum

noname

Grass Lake, MI

#1 Oct 9, 2013
I moved from TC to Alpena, after moving from Alpena to Tc, and living there 7 years. My father subsequently died, and I have been living on and off with family . I am in my second year of college here at Acc, and I am doing pretty ok. I am going for MIS, and plan on transferring to Northwood on my last year. I was quite young when I lived in Tc, and TC has changed quite a bit, so I am wondering if it would fit my personality. Here is what I like:

Hackerspaces ( I hear they have two. I tried starting on here, but no one bit. So this would be great to be part of.)

Libertarian/anarchist politics (From what I understood, it seemed that TC was a pro business environment, but there was a decent gay population, as well as a push for medical marijuana. I wouldn't mind forming a party, or even volunteer for NORML or similar things. As for my anarchist side, I am more influence by Murray Rothbard, Ron Paul, and the Austrian Economics. I tried forming a chapter in Alpena, but no one seemed interested)

Aspergers Compatibility/Jobs: I have Asperger's,and I have been looking for work and applying to many places, but my search is limited, since I can't handle fast paced enviroments, so I am looking for more back room activities, where I don't need to interact as much. Also, being a tad more tolerant would be nice, although I am more put up with here, I would like to be able to thrive.

Entrepreneurial Opportunities: I am quite entrepreneurial, but I have found that Alpena and online a tad competitive or lacking wealth. It would be nice to maybe eventually do some entrepreneurial things, although I lean more towards investing, like stocks, commodities, and as of late real estate has interested me.

Do you think Traverse City would fit my personality well?
not TC

Gaylord, MI

#2 Oct 12, 2013