recent graduate

Buffalo, NY

#1 Sep 25, 2013
I am a recent HS graduate. I am average, nothing special, but not below average.

Because my parents have a good income, I do not qualify for any grants. They do not have a lot of extra money by the time they pay the bills to help me out, but honestly they should not have to anyways.

I am at a crossroads. Many of my friends are borrowing a metric boatload of money to put themselves through school. Some of the people who were upperclassmen when I went to HS have now graduated college and are saying there are no good jobs available for them that pay enough to help pay off their student loan debt. Many of them are working jobs that just pay around 10 dollars an hour.

I am thinking about learning a skilled trade at a tech school instead of borrowing nearly 30 grand to put myself through college to get a 4 year degree. At this point, I do not even know what I would try to get a college degree in.

So, is borrowing money for college a good or bad idea for the average student?
learn a trade

Lavalette, WV

#2 Sep 25, 2013
recent graduate wrote:
Because my parents have a good income, I do not qualify for any grants.
Big bummer isn't it? I think it is bullsh1t! I found this out a few years ago when I graduated. I went to HVAC school and am making around 35000 a year. In a few years I should be right around 45000 a year. After that, I may try to start my own company. I really like what I am doing and the money seems good to me.
The college scam

Canyon Country, CA

#3 Sep 25, 2013
For the vast majority, obtaining a college degree does not mean they will make more money in the work world. Truth is - the economy still sucks and the good paying jobs are far and few in between to be found now. Like the other person said, learn a skilled trade, do not BORROW money to go to college, you will regret it.
lol

Huntington, WV

#4 Sep 25, 2013
recent graduate wrote: