Officials Arrested In Gambling Sting

Officials Arrested In Gambling Sting

There are 62 comments on the WLTX Columbia story from Apr 6, 2008, titled Officials Arrested In Gambling Sting. In it, WLTX Columbia reports that:

The Charleston County Sheriff's Office says an assistant prosecutor for Calhoun, Dorchester and Orangeburg counties was among 27 people arrested in a raid on a Hanahan house where people were playing poker.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at WLTX Columbia.

Lamigra

Columbia, SC

#22 Apr 7, 2008
WARLOCK wrote:
I wanna know why I was not invited to play cards.....
They heard you were out doing All Tel commercials.
joker

New York, NY

#23 Apr 7, 2008
Cops need to focus on real crime instead of gambling at a private residence
BAD WRONG

Denmark, SC

#24 Apr 7, 2008
I am a Law Enforcement Officer and I will agree that this is a waste of tax payers money. What we should be doing is taking those man hours and placing it towards property and Drug crimes. I would like to see the county property crime stats for that night. Wouln't that be a goof if a little old lady was being broken into while Law Enforcement was swooping down on a poker party.
lori

Newberry, SC

#25 Apr 7, 2008
What's next, not being allowed to play go-fish with my kids for pretzels after church? No going out in public without a bonnet? No wearing shorts on a public beach? This law is 200 years old. While these people obviously had a big organization here, and yes that IS illegal, this law needs changing. I am now off to wear a skirt above my knee and smoke a cigarette. Somebody call the cops!
dude

United States

#26 Apr 7, 2008
You have go to be kidding me! Why are the police wasting time and taxpayers money on investigating some people playing poker! Do we not have more important crimes! This is outrageous!!!!!! The police are the ones who should be investigated about this gigantic waste of time!!!!!!!!!!
Sandy

Orangeburg, SC

#27 Apr 7, 2008