Sharper Image Gift Cards Not Accepted

Full story: WXIA Atlanta 22
The Sharper Image, a popular gadget and electronics store found in malls across America filed for chapter 11 bankruptcy Tuesday, and said it would no longer accept store gift cards. Full Story
First Prev
of 2
Next Last

Since: Aug 07

Stone Mountain, GA

#1 Feb 23, 2008
Amazing! Gift cards and gift certificates were paid for with cash, and now the stores refuse to accept them? While I am no expert on the bankruptcy laws, this just does not seem right. People paid for these items in good faith and now the stores are allowed to basically steal their money. I have never purchased anything from Sharper Image and you can bet I never will. If this is how they honor their customers then going out of business might be best for the consumer.
ageofpaper

Atlanta, GA

#2 Feb 23, 2008
They say "Usually, the filing of a bankruptcy petition means existing bills won't be paid until a Chapter 11 plan is in place. Sharper Image, however, said it would be "extremely disruptive" to its business to force the Asian suppliers to wait for payment."

I bet its disruptive to the consumers to have gift cards that are now worthless. They should make the lawyers accept their pay in the cruddy gift cards, once the case is over they can use them at the store. I had heard that those air cleaners were junk anyway. Notice they will pay the commies but not redeem you for the cards which have already been paid for. Anyone that buys anything from these crooks is asking to get ripped off.
ageofpaper

Atlanta, GA

#3 Feb 23, 2008
There is no law stating that they do not have to honor the cards, they just won't. I bet the CEO is still getting paid. Wells Fargo has the dumbest bankers or some one is on the take at that bank to keep throwing good money after bad.
Jim

Cornelia, GA

#4 Feb 23, 2008
This is another example why gift cards are a poor choice for gifts.

Why give real money for fake money?