Site plan for Matinecock Court housin...

Site plan for Matinecock Court housing project OKd

There are 28 comments on the Newsday story from Jan 15, 2010, titled Site plan for Matinecock Court housing project OKd. In it, Newsday reports that:

More than three decades after it was first proposed, the Matinecock Court affordable housing development in East Northport is one step closer to being built.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Newsday.

First Prev
of 2
Next Last
Middle class white man

Morganville, NJ

#1 Jan 17, 2010
Here we go again... A friend of mine in the E NPT fire dept says with the current plan, if there was a fire, there would be a lot of casualties, roads do not allow proper equipment to get into the complex.
I foresee a lot of lawsuits by the tenants and town folk. Nice to have section 8 housing next to 2 schools, I wonder what type of model citizens will be in there.
Working Class Firefighter

East Northport, NY

#2 Jan 18, 2010
I am new to East Northport and have just been hit over the head with this news of public housing in my community. I fear a loss of value to my home and a loss to the school district. Not to mention tax costs and traffic build-up. This must be stopped if we are to protect my rights and the rights of the people who inhabit Northport and East Northport. Why should we gift our schools and services to transients who will not contribute?
Life-Long Resident

Long Beach, NY

#4 Feb 3, 2010
I don't think people really understand what exactly affordable housing is. Has anyone seen or been into the housing project that was build directly across the street from Huntington's Train Station??? It is beautifully maintained.

In today's economy and even yesterday's economy the cost of living on Long Island is not exactly affordable for many singles and families. This is an opportunity to help those people out. Does not mean they will not make positive contributions to our community.