Feds descend on Cherry Hospital - Raleigh (NC) News & Observer

Aug 27, 2008 Full story: NC Mental Hope News 6

Wednesday, August 27, 2008 Feds descend on Cherry Hospital - Raleigh News & Observer Michael Biesecker and Lynn Bonner RALEIGH - A large team of federal regulators arrived at Cherry Hospital on Tuesday to ...

Full Story
CJL

Atlanta, GA

#1 Sep 6, 2008
What happen to the oath of doing no harm to the patient. As a Psychiatric Nurse, i cannot see any justification for the neglect and malpractice that occurred to this patient in the care of Cherry Hospital. Some family trusted them enough to care for this patient and he leaves their hospital dead. How can the nurses justify why they did not do an assessment on him at the beginning of her shift, provide him with his meals and make sure that his ADLs were complete on a timely manner. Did anyone go and get his vital signs as required per each shift? How can they justify not asking him if he needed any help with his meals, if he wanted something to drink or just go by and sit beside him to let him express his feelings for that day. If he didnot talk to anyone why not just sit beside him to let him know you cared about him and wanted to establish a rapport with him. This is the theraputic role of the psych nurse. There is no justification in my eyes for this man to be ignored for 22 hrs while the staff sat close and ignored him. Did anyone noticed a change in his color esp the lips as he began to lean over??? No i suppose not for nobody was doing the job that they pledged to do when they received their license. My heart goes out to the family of this man but also to the patient the day he sat dying amoung the health care providers with not one of them attempting to help him. They should all be charged with neglect, fired and never be allowed to work in the health care environment of another patient. Instead they are reasigned and providing more training. What a slap in the face of this family. May the family purs