GGS

Olympia, WA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Jan 18, 2009

Hello. Can someone asssit me please? Can you assist me please? I am a student doing a research project on the women's prison in Gatesville called Mountain View. What does the inside of the cell look like? If one were to escape, what is nearby? Woods? Park? If there are woods and or a park, what are the names? Is there a creek or stream in the woods or park? Any information you can tell me would be appreciated. Thank you.
Waycross48

AOL

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 18, 2009

Judged:

I don't know if you've had an answer to your question, but I can give you some information. I have been to the Gatesville Prisons as part of a prison ministry. As far as escape goes - Gatesville is nothing but a "town" out in the middle of NO WHERE of just prison facilities. There are no woods, parks or other places to hide. These are high security prisons. I've visited with inmates on Death Row and, believe me, there is NO escape from Gatesville. The cells I saw are basic prison cells - what you are allowed to have depends totally on the level of housing where you are. Some inmates have small televisions. But, at Mountain View (I write to a lady there whom I met while she was on death row. She is not allowed to have any type of decorations in her cell. She puts out a paper Christmas tree that was a greeting card - this is her Christmas decoration. They can have nothing sent to them - it must come from the prison store. If you are caught with contraband - it is a serious infraction. All mail is read - going out and coming in adn is sniffed for drugs. All phone calls are monitored. But to answer your main question - you just cannot escape from Mountain View. There are armed guards everywhere, high fences wrapped with razor wire and prisoners are tightly controlled and monitored. I don't know the statistics on the number of escape attempts from Gatesville, but I don't think there have been any successes.
April

Houston, TX