Two-way Main Street just the first step - Sentinel & Enterprise

Full story: Sentinel & Enterprise

Jeff Speck, a world-renowned city planner, says cities need to walk the walk -- literally -- when it comes to improving their downtowns.
Comments
1 - 19 of 19 Comments Last updated Aug 4, 2013
Shaking My Head

Ashburnham, MA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Oct 20, 2010

Want people to go downtown? Get rid of the crime, drugs, hookers, dirt, and welfare offices.

And turn on the lights in Fitchburg so people won't think we're a dead city.
Kirsten

Whitinsville, MA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Oct 20, 2010

I am a resident of Gardner, so I am well aware of the two lane change. If the police department isn't out enforcing traffic laws as far as making sure drivers are actually stopping at all of the new stop signs that were put in then it's not going to be safe enough for pedestrians. Yesterday I stood at a crosswalk while a police officer and three cars drove right by and didn't let me cross.
Greg

Leominster, MA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Oct 20, 2010

Shaking My Head wrote:
Want people to go downtown? Get rid of the crime, drugs, hookers, dirt, and welfare offices.
Actually, there's great entertainment downtown. Someone is bound to approach you with an imaginitive tale of hardship and plea for help (monetary only, thanks.) If you come back the next day you'll get an entirely different story from the same person. Or you can hear a local business owner complain about the hookers, and see another businessman down the street patronizing these ladies in his luxury car. At night you can play the "is that a kid on a bike?" game while driving down Main or search for something to do that doesn't involve getting toasted in some dive. All in all, a good time can be had by all.
Chamer is terrorist like

Belmont, MA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Oct 20, 2010

Shaking My Head wrote: