Fernley - New Convention Center

Fernley - New Convention Center

Posted in the Fernley Forum

CJ Gueldner

Reno, NV

#1 Jan 15, 2010

Dear Fernley City Council Members:

Fernley could use a new convention center.

Hi all, thought I would write about this idea I had and wanted to share it with all the residents of Fernley. I am not sure if any Fernley residents will read it, much less care, but - here goes.....

First of all, to be upfront I am not a resident of Fernley, however, I was a past resident for 8 years, though. I am just a citizen who cares about what happens to Fernley and wants positive things to happen in Fernley.

It would be nice if the City of Fernley took some of that sales tax money that they now have and leased one of the empty warehouse spaces (appx 6,000 s.f. would suffice for the size of the City), in Fernley to make a new convention center that ANYONE can rent.

Presently there is space at City Hall to use, however, their policy dictates that one MUST be a non-profit in order to use the space...that's not good for the general public's needs.

The old Fernley Community Center building run by the ladies of the Lutheran Church and the Fernley Improvement Club does have a great location on Main and Center Streets, however parking is not the best and the facilities are very out-dated. It desperately needs modern bathrooms that are ADA accessible and a modern commercial kitchen facility for the customers to use.

While the existing Fernley Community Center did serve its purpose in the good ole days - we need modern facilities. I believe that the City of Fernley has pretty much turned its back on the business at hand that does put the citizens' health and well-being at risk every time they use the existing Fernley Community Center. The kitchen, bathrooms and interior ceilings should also be tested for mold issues. It could very well be the case of "What you can't see - CAN hurt you".