Did bullying at MPS lead to a suicide?
First Prev
of 2
Next Last
jill

Erie, PA

#23 Aug 16, 2014
Dick Porterhouse wrote:
By now, most people have heard of the Florida bullying case of Rebecca Ann Sedwick, the 12-year old Florida girl who committed suicide after bearing horribly bullied by other kids for over a year.
Did something similar recently occur in Erie, and at a place that's supposedly "above" such terrible things?
One rumor that still lingers in Erie concerns a Mercyhurst Prep Freshman who supposedly committed suicide at the end of last year due to bullying of him by fellow students at the school.
Is this true? Anyone? What actually happened?
Has the school taken steps to deal with it, including identifying and disciplining the offenders?
I was a freshman at MPS in 1986. I was tall, blonde, and cute, but out of the status quo. I was bashed, pushed, into lockers to the point in which I fell down and had bruises and concussions. I had pizza and other food smeared onto my face in full view of everyone in the cafeteria. The teachers and staff let it go on. I still know the names of the students who did the bullying. I also still know the names of the teachers. The teachers were like turtles. They popped their head out, saw what was going on, and popped their head back in. It just depended on who you were...meaning who your parents were. I have two children now and would never even consider sending them to this school. The culture that is created is horrible.
Really

Sharon, PA

#24 Aug 17, 2014
jill wrote:
<quoted text>
I was a freshman at MPS...The culture that is created is horrible.