yeszir

Radcliff, KY

#1 Feb 4, 2013
I recently got my "1st Offense DUI". What can I expect to happen legally?

Please, keep the trolling to a minimum.:D
Kuntrygirl

Elizabethtown, KY

#2 Feb 4, 2013
yeszir wrote:
I recently got my "1st Offense DUI". What can I expect to happen legally?
Please, keep the trolling to a minimum.:D
IF YOU DRINK DON'T DRIVE, YOU WONT GET BY WITH IT!! as you already found out.

Kentucky DUI First Offense Penalties
The fine amount for a first offense DUI in Kentucky will be between $200 -$500, an additional service charge of $375, plus all associated court costs. First time offenders are also subject to 2 to 30 days in jail. All or part of the jail sentence and/or the imposed fine amount may be waived by the court in exchange for 2 to 30 days of community service.

If there were aggravating circumstances such as: 30 mph over the posted limit, going the wrong direction, causing an accident resulting in death or serious bodily injury to another person, BAC level of .18% or greater, refusal to submit to a chemical test, or transporting a passenger under the age of 12 at the time of arrest; the offender will face a minimum of 4 days in jail.

You will also be required to attend a 90 day alcohol or substance abuse program approved by the state. First time offenders over the age of 21 will have their driver's license suspended for between 30 and 120 days. The court has the authority to issue a hardship license to first time offenders if the suspension period is longer than 30 days.

In order to be granted a hardship license the offender will need to prove to the court that a longer suspension period will create undo hardship upon the offender, and that the offender has no other means of transportation, whether it be public transit, or family and friends. First time offenders who refused to submit to a chemical test will not be eligible for a hardship license.

First time offenders under the age of 21 will face a fine amount of $100 to $500, plus court costs. They will have their driver's license revoked for 1 to 6 months. Be required to attend an alcohol assessment program.
yeszir

Radcliff, KY

#3 Feb 4, 2013
I didn't want a copy paste of stuff. That's nothing to go by. I need actual experiences. Thanks though.
Haha

Glasgow, KY

#4 Feb 4, 2013
yeszir wrote:
I recently got my "1st Offense DUI". What can I expect to happen legally?
Please, keep the trolling to a minimum.:D
I have the urge to punch you in the face. "Oh, I just got intoxicated while driving, putting other people's lives in danger. Tee hee. No hate please!"
yeszir

Radcliff, KY

#5 Feb 4, 2013
Oh, haha. Assuming the worst in everything is your fault. I'm on here for guidance, not $$sholes. Thanks. :)
yeszir

Radcliff, KY

#6 Feb 4, 2013
For the record and all the over-reactors,

I was barely over the limit and only pulled over for speeding. It was my drunk friend in the passenger seat that raised suspicion. I speed daily so it was bound to happen eventually. You won't make me feel guilty for that. Sorry.
Kuntrygirl

Elizabethtown, KY

#7 Feb 4, 2013
yeszir wrote:
For the record and all the over-reactors,
I was barely over the limit and only pulled over for speeding. It was my drunk friend in the passenger seat that raised suspicion. I speed daily so it was bound to happen eventually. You won't make me feel guilty for that. Sorry.
Barely over or a whole point over makes no difference to the judge. He will make sure your lessson is learned. What I posted is usually what happens here in hardin county. License suspension, AA meeting, you may escape jail time if you have a clean record, but will more than likely have to serve community time at Communicare or something related to alcohol reoovery.
yeszir

Chicago, IL

#8 Feb 4, 2013
Thanks ma'am. :)
dude

Columbia, KY

#9 Feb 4, 2013
These people apparently don't know what they are talking about. You will get your license suspended for 120 days and you have to go to drunk driving classes and you will most likely have 90 days on the shelf for 2 years. It happens to the best of us.
Call a lawyer

Elizabethtown, KY

#10 Feb 4, 2013
I have used attorney Tom Shreve before. He is in E-town. Give him a call. He'll shoot you straight. Good guy.
ppp5902

United States

#11 Feb 4, 2013
Kuntrygirl wrote:
<quoted text> Barely over or a whole point over makes no difference to the judge. He will make sure your lessson is learned. What I posted is usually what happens here in hardin county. License suspension, AA meeting, you may escape jail time if you have a clean record, but will more than likely have to serve community time at Communicare or something related to alcohol reoovery.
I suppose your were just drunk enough to not be able to understand that you shouldn't be speeding if you have been drinking at all.

If that's the case, you deserve what you get. If drinking impairs your decision making ability, you shouldn't drive.
leslie

Louisville, KY

#12 Feb 7, 2013
Hire a lawyer, I did, as long as you did not blow high he could get you off on Wreckless. That is what I got was a wreckless driving, all else dropped. The only negative is my insurance did go up.:( Good luck!
Anonymous For This

Vine Grove, KY

#13 Feb 7, 2013
yeszir wrote:
For the record and all the over-reactors,
I was barely over the limit and only pulled over for speeding. It was my drunk friend in the passenger seat that raised suspicion. I speed daily so it was bound to happen eventually. You won't make me feel guilty for that. Sorry.
Someone here doesn't have a strong understanding of the law.(I'll let you guess. I love games!)

There are absolutes. "I only JUST killed him, your honor." This still counts as killing a man. Driving right over the DUI limit still means you committed a DUI. The state made it .08 for a reason. Going over the limit is going over the limit. Get a lawyer. You're going to need one.

Hot-tip: he's probably going to recommend you don't say anything in public related to your DUI. Like saying, "... you won't make me feel guilty for that." These sort of things make you look like an ass before you can open your mouth in a court of law.

You drive drunk and you speed everyday without remorse? Enjoy your license suspension and your community service.
jeannette

Hurst, TX

#15 Nov 6, 2014
O have. My, 2nd dui I required interlock device how much cost.if mandatory interlock device n my car or is of to the judge deside if I need it or not?

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

Elizabethtown Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
Does Altec hire felons? 4 hr wow 13
Shooting at Kroger 6 hr justME 13
Do you hate Blacks 2? 7 hr Hilarious 5
Track?? 8 hr Marc 2
Neighbors Loud Dog 11 hr Vet 7
new waitress at ruby Tuesdays 13 hr Sam 6
Aaron D Hardy (Apr '14) 17 hr pub 17
Hobby Lobby Etown Letting ALL African American ... 19 hr Logical 19
Elizabethtown Dating
Find my Match
More from around the web

Elizabethtown People Search

Addresses and phone numbers for FREE

Personal Finance

Mortgages [ See current mortgage rates ]