Fleeing Drug Violence, Mexicans Pour ...

Fleeing Drug Violence, Mexicans Pour Into U.S.

There are 204 comments on the New York Times story from Apr 18, 2010, titled Fleeing Drug Violence, Mexicans Pour Into U.S.. In it, New York Times reports that:

The giant rusty fence of metal bars along the border here, built in recent years to keep illegal immigrants from crossing into the United States, has a new nickname among local residents: Jurassic Park Gate, a nod to the barrier in a 1993 movie that kept dangerous dinosaurs at bay in a theme park.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at New York Times.

Juan Too

United States

#392 Sep 16, 2013
Holla Isabella wrote:
This country has always been the home of immigrants and we welcome them with open arms. The poem at the statute of liberty, however, does not say send us your ignorant, unskilled, violent, vulgar, vile, useless wet back walking pieces of shit.
I have a PhD from the University of Hard Knocks.

“Work hard at work worth doing.”

Since: Apr 11

Location hidden

#397 Sep 17, 2013
zanoni wrote:
<quoted text>
You're side-stepping the main point we were on. We were talking about productivity. Not how much you pay nor how you pay them. But following up on your side-stepping, this just means that their income is greater than reported. You say they get paid under the table.
It sounds to me like you're griping because you hired a contractor who hired unskilled workers. He charged you a bundle and paid the unskilled workers a piddly salary, maybe even under the table. I suggest you hire union workers next time. They'll get the job done right, on time, and they don't come cheap. No unskilled workers there, you get what you pay for.
Actually, I have never hired anybody who employed workers. I am fortunate to have a husband who can do just about anything. When there are jobs too big for him to handle, those we have hired are homegrown US citizens who do not employ illegals. I hire licensed, bonded workers, thank you.