Ex-Mayor Tony Arredia running for off...

Ex-Mayor Tony Arredia running for office again!

Posted in the Des Plaines Forum

A friend

Naperville, IL

#1 Jan 21, 2013
Follow the Mayor back into office!

Check out Mayor Arredia's Face Book page at:
Https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tony-Arredia-4...
A friend

Naperville, IL

#2 Jan 25, 2013
Meet Tony - He knows People!

http://nancyloo.net/tag/tony-arredia/
A friend

Naperville, IL

#3 Jan 25, 2013
Former Des Plaines Mayor Tony Arredia
The last time I saw Tony Arredia he was Mayor of Des Plaines, a major suburb northwest of Chicago, and we were standing in floodwater as I interviewed him for Fox Chicago. (See that report here.)  Tony is one of my favorite news sources. As a journalist, I know the value of networking and maintaining ties with politicians and a whole host of people (though Pat Quinn rarely answers his cell phone anymore since becoming Governor) even if they’re no longer in office.

I love the story of how Tony wound up settling in Des Plaines. Back in 1963, he and his wife lived in Chinatown – right in the construction path of the Dan Ryan Expressway. So they drove around looking for a new place to call home. They loved a new subdivision to the northwest so planned to bring Tony’s father to see the place. Couldn’t find it. Tony drove into another new subdivision in Des Plaines and declared,“Here it is, Dad.” Today he admits,“I still don’t know where the hell I was when I was looking!”
9-3-2009
Maryville Academy in Des Plaines
He went on to become the mayor of Des Plaines for 10 years, stepping down just a few months ago. This guy has not slowed down. I visited him today at the Maryville Academy, which provides a host of services for troubled kids and families. There have been major changes at the academy since a suicide and sexual assault made news 6 years ago.