Yes, I should have waited a day befor...

Yes, I should have waited a day before I sent it away.

Posted in the Dayton Forum

Leon Harrison

United States

#1 Oct 3, 2012
I am a registered Independent, who will be voting for Mitt Romney and Paul Ryan because of the economy and their experience; but not to let the Neocon Bushmen, or Old Cold Warrior/Pentagon-PAC-rat porker, or Wilsonian imperialist interventionists, or paper-product Wall Street geniuses back in again, not that many if any of them have ever really had to leave Washington, D.C.
I am 62 years old, an Old Cold Warrior and former Pentagon porker, now retired and unable to be fired. Now, I feel sort of guilty and hypocritical about being a nonproductive dependent citizen. Since our Ohio presidential votes are going to be close, and I am a writer: I do not want to accept future blame with my fleeting but influential literary fame. I have been supporting our Second Amendment and civilian firearms and ammunition industries; but I do not intend or want to do likewise (with my taxes and votes) to pay for more Pentagon pork (defense/military spending).
With reality and regrets, we must consider and remember that we have an ongoing and growing $16-trillion national debt. Our nation can no longer afford this post-1965 tripartite cooperation between Congress, The Pentagon and The Welfare State: Employees and dependents of these three entities have been having fun “getting things done”, via legislation, regulation and taxation. It is easy to care and fairly share with other people’s money. Regardless of media chatter, it has not much mattered who has been in charge of government large. Government needs, seeks and finds (domestic and foreign) problems to solve so it can be involved and justify its expenses and existence.