First Prev
of 2
Next Last
Degrees are overrated

Cookeville, TN

#21 Sep 20, 2011
robert wrote:
I didn't say anything about degrees vs intelligence. You just made that up. Kids that have parents that can support them are lucky. Not sure why you think that's something bad.my mom was a single mom who worked in a shirt factory so I didn't get much financial help from her when I was getting my BS. And a kid that changes majors too many times won't get a degree most likely because they're not serious about a degree no matter how much support the parents give.
I don't make the rules---the standard in many positions is still a 4 year degree not a technical school or a stint in the army. I work in the medical field. In the near future a rank and file lab tech or resp tech will be required to have a 4 year degree. 2 year technical degrees or associate degrees are going to be a thing of the past. There is already a big difference over what a nurse with a 4 year RN degree will make and what a 2 year LPN will make. In fact 2 year LPN licenses are quickly becoming a thing of the past with many hospitals only hiring RNs already.
More education isn't a bad thing and you're destined to lose a debate when you claim it is.
My dear Robert, I haven't used the word "bad" at all when describing education. And I agree with you that many positions that currently require a two-year degree will eventually require a four-year degree. But that is a result of an over-abundance of degrees, not a change in those positions. For that matter, it won't be long until a bachelor's degree means little and many of the jobs that now require a bachelor's will require a master's. It's simple supply and demand. There is a greater supply of degreed individuals than there is a demand for them, thus the higher degree requirements for jobs. It is just a way of narrowing the applicant pool.