Public speaks to Kasich

Public speaks to Kasich

There are 142 comments on the DispatchPolitics story from Apr 3, 2011, titled Public speaks to Kasich. In it, DispatchPolitics reports that:

Excerpts from the thousands of emails to Gov. John Kasich on Senate Bill 5, which limits collective-bargaining rights: I am a corrections officer with the state and have been for 15 years.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at DispatchPolitics.

Black Lion

Columbus, OH

#127 Apr 4, 2011
Wow wrote:
<quoted text>
Not to be offensive, but you say you work for $8.75 an hour--are you college educated? Do you have a Master's Degree (most teachers are required to have one)? I work for Franklin County and I have a Bachelor's degree and post-graduate education. Last year I made $27,000.00.
ALL of the people effected by SB 5 also pay taxes as well as paying for our insurance. Most of us have, at a minimum, a Bachelor's degree. Most of us entered public service because we wanted to serve the public and help others; not to make a lot of money. We do the thankless jobs that no one else wants to do, and we do them well, and without complaint. We took these jobs knowing we would be earning far less than if we worked in the private sector; and most of us took these low paying jobs because low cost insurance was a benefit we were GUARANTEED. We won't be able to afford insurance if SB5 is enacted.
You say you make $8.75 an hour and have to pay for insurance. Have you looked into Medicaid for insurance for you and your child? It sounds like you would qualify for it.
You should take some time and actually talk to some of the people who will be hurt by the Bill if it becomes law before you spout off about taxes and insurance.
State of Ohio has no requirement for teachers to have a Masters degree. Taxpayers do however provide tuition reimbursement and then a nice big raise for them when they become overqualified for the job.
just sayin

Columbus, OH

#128 Apr 4, 2011
Black Lion wrote: