NO CANOPIES AT OIB????? are you serio...

NO CANOPIES AT OIB????? are you serious!!!!!

Posted in the Carolina Shores Forum

First Prev
of 2
Next Last
MAJ

United States

#1 Dec 5, 2007
I have been coming to OIB for 20 years with my entire family (20-30 people). This ban is ridiculous! What genius came up with this idea?? "Lets give vacationers a reason to go somewhere else, like Hilton Head or Sunset. We are tired of all the revenue they bring to our vacation town". We are planning on canceling our 08 reservations for 5 condo rentals on OIB for this reason. Thats about $8500 + incidental spending that will not be going into OIB this year . Congratulations OIB! A few more bright ideas like this and you will be the next Flint, MI.
Shade Seeketr

Kingsport, TN

#2 Jun 25, 2008
I just caught up with this news...and I can't beleive it. My wife has had melanoma, and my mother has had 3 hip replacements, so crawling under a beach umbrella is not a option for us. It's my last year also at OIB. Btw, I sent emails to the mayor and all the town council, but never got a response, let along a rational response.
Beach Lover

Kingsport, TN

#3 Jun 25, 2008
I just got this news from my friend in Kingsport. OIB just lost my business also. From someone local....are the beach police enforcing these ordinances?
local

Jacksonville, NC

#4 Jun 27, 2008
I am a resident on the Island. We strongly fought against this ban. Yes, police, ARMED police, are going up and down the beach having people remove cabanas.
Contacts for complaints:
www.oibgov.com
www.brunswickbeacon.com
call town hall (the site will not allow me to post the number) Mayor Debbie Smith
NJ Bill

Glenside, PA

#5 Jun 28, 2008