Dogs killed in drug raid

Dogs killed in drug raid

There are 6 comments on the Daily Camera story from Aug 14, 2008, titled Dogs killed in drug raid. In it, Daily Camera reports that:

A Westminster SWAT team shot and killed two dogs during a Tuesday evening drug raid.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Daily Camera.

BradleyD

Broomfield, CO

#1 Aug 20, 2008
I am a former resident of the home in question and was present when the unidentified dog was purchased. The dog was a 35 pound beagle mix and his name was Jake. He was not by any stretch of the imagination an "attack" dog and he was shot by the SWAT officers a total of 7 times in the corner of the house between the garage door and the bathroom door. All 7 shots were directed downward into the corner where Jake was huddled in fear. He was likely not identified because there was not much left of him after the 7 shot from an assault rifle did their work.

The other dog was correctly identified as a pit bull. His name was Zeus. Zeus was shot more times than Jake was and all shots fired at him were in a spray pattern leading AWAY from the front door point of entry for the SWAT team. The SWAT team fired at least 4 more shots at Zeus as he was crawling toward his owner no longer having the ability to use his hind legs and likely bleeding to death already from the first 4 bullets he was struck by.

The SWAT officers fired approx 22 shots in the home all directed at the two dogs. Does this sound like they were being attacked? No, they were fleeing the officers in the direction of the back door of the home. 22 shots at a 35 pound beagle and a 70 pound pitbull in a residential neighborhood in the middle of the evening.