Montgomery, AL

#21 Dec 1, 2009
Well stated Rainbow Generation
UnionAcademyGrad uate

United States

#22 Dec 8, 2009
SouthernExposure wrote:
<quoted text>
There used to be an unaccredited "school" in Georgetown called Union Academy, but thankfully, the feds shut it down for tax evasion. It was more like a cult anyway, and specialized in teaching white supremacy.
I know this post is several months old, but as a UA graduate, I'd like to set the record straight (apologies if this post is redundant... but it looks like Topix lost my earlier reply to this post):

UA was an accredited school (at least, it was at the time I attended... I don't know what its status was at the time it closed.) I had no problems being accepted into a four year college after I graduated.

UA did *not* teach white supremacy. True, it was a white-only private school; and that commitment to segregation spoke volumes about its true values. But I attended the school from 1st grade through 12th, and at no time did I ever hear any teacher claim that whites were superior to other races.

UA was also not cult-like by any definition of the word. It was operated as a "Christian" school so it had things like prayer at special events, the "A Beka" curriculum was used in the elementary classes, and there was a 15-minute Bible "period" for upper classes. Your opinion may vary, but for most people, this is not exactly the stuff of cults.

UA was not a great school; truth is in most ways it was really lousy. It had the same problems that every other school in the area had (insufficient funding, discipline problems, athletics were over-prioritized, teachers were under-qualified, etc.) But lets tone down the rhetoric: UA was just a small school in a small rural town. Its stated Christian values were undermined by its commitment to segregation, but it was not a white-supremacist cult.
1981 UA GRAD

Sioux Falls, SD

#23 Dec 9, 2009
UnionAcademyGraduate wrote:
<quoted text>