Half-mile no-sex-offender zone approv...

Half-mile no-sex-offender zone approved in Putnam

There are 14 comments on the Newsday story from Mar 28, 2007, titled Half-mile no-sex-offender zone approved in Putnam. In it, Newsday reports that:

Putnam County will soon have one of the toughest child safety zone laws in New York state _ a law that opponents say essentially bans convicted sex offenders from setting foot in the county.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at Newsday.

David H

United States

#1 Mar 28, 2007
Putnam County should have paid attention to a recent case in Georgia. These are my words:

Thoughts on the Murder of a Little Boy

by Rev. Dr. C. David Hess
New York State Representative of SOhopeful International
[email protected]

I am a church pastor and also a member of the Board of Directors of SOhopeful International, a group which advocates for effective sex offender laws based on fact rather than myth and hysteria. SOhopeful’s membership is largely made up of registered sex offenders and their families. Our efforts usually fall on deaf ears. The fact, contrary to myth, that the vast majority of registered sex offenders do not repeat their crimes does not seem to matter. The fact that the vast majority of new sex crimes are committed by individuals who are not on a sex offender registry does not seem to matter.

I just read the news that they have discovered the murdered body of 6 year old Christopher Michael Barrios in Brunswick, Georgia. He had been missing for a week. The police chief said a registered sex offender and three other suspects would probably be charged with his murder.

My first reactions are purely emotional. I am filled with rage at those who did this to this little boy. I would like to torture them. My second reaction is fear. Such murders usually result in more harassment of registered sex offenders and calls for harsher laws.