keen scam

Scranton, PA

#171 Dec 17, 2012
They go all over the place holding open auditions and accepting everyone who shows up. Then they tell you that you have to pay 350 for a photoshoot. You will never get any kind of job by joining. Its all run by one person who just pockets all the cash and moves on to another open audition in a city far far away. Stay away!!
Rachael

Levittown, NY

#172 Jan 14, 2013
I actually thought this was a legit agency, and I always wanted to try my hand at modeling. Unfortunately I'm not tall enough to be accepted to any of the well-known agencies, but my mom is a former model, so she also thought this was legit based on the research she did.

Not true!!! all they do is let you see the castings on their site and never call you once. And so much of it wasn't even in NY. Most of them are hair shows in the fall. Anyway, I called them a couple months ago saying it's been a year and I want another photo shoot (since they say it's free after a year; as long as you prove you were going to castings). The girl told me "Sure, we'll let you know when we'll be in NYC again." I highly, highly doubt they'll come back. I don't think they return to cities they've already been, otherwise they would have "models" pounding on their door asking for more photo shoots (which would cost them lots of $$$). They go to one city, take your money, and never return. I was only working PT at the time, so money was right. I'm pretty angry they took advantage of me.

Since: Feb 11

Location hidden

#173 Jan 14, 2013
Dear Rachael;

I am very sorry that you are angry and I assure you that we "are" going to return to NYC. However, please keep in mind that you contacted us for your "free re-shoot" a couple of months ago.....As we explained, a couple of months ago NYC and the East Coast experienced Hurricane Sandy, which was quite devastating to NYC and many other areas on the coast. It was not the right time to hold an event or photo session as it would have been, quite honestly, in no ones best interest. Additionally, shortly after Hurricane Sandy, there was a large snow storm which also affected the area. Our open calls do cost our agency money for advertising, travel expense, meeting room rentals-which are very expensive in NYC, NY.
We are in the process of planning our next event in NYC, NY. We cannot control nature and we also have other factors to consider.

As for booking models in NYC... Ironically, we just booked a National skin care print ad for hand models with one of our models in NYC last week through Meltzger Media(if you matched what they were looking for 35-70 female--you would have been in our power point presentation which was submitted to their account executive. Also,we have had extensive opportunities for our models in NYC as well. The competition is very aggressive in NYC and we cannot control who companies hire or do not hire.

Yes, we do have models contacting us on facebook, telephone, twitter, email, etc.. daily wanting to sign with our agency. Also, we return to many cities every 2-12 months as needed. We are more concerned with booking the models we have and adding only when necessary, thus the reason why we offer a free photo session your second year upon request to give our models more of an opportunity.

I understand your frustration and when a person looks at a review from a competitor, angry model, etc... they tend to worry or become concerned. I truly wish you would have discussed this further with our agency and we would have been able to clear up any misconceptions which you may have had or still have.

Regardless of your posting, we are still more than willing and wanting to assist you in furthering your opportunities with our agency. Therefore, please do not feel any hesitation to call our office to communicate further.

We have only the very best intentions for all of our models and talent. Again, please feel comfortable contacting our office as I do know that many times people can write something negative out of frustration and it may not really be how they feel after our resolution to provide them with the attention we want to give to each person with our company.

Very Best,

Deborah L Keen
CEO
The Keen Agency, Inc.
1-877-781-3180
Curious

Alexandria, VA

#174 Jan 26, 2013
I resently attended a casting call with the Keen Agency. We were selected, during the call to the agency we were informed that there would be a $75.00 fee to upload the photos onto their website,$50.00 for a portfolio book and the rest I guess if for the photographer. If we decide to use our own photos and there accepted by your agency what is the total cost to be registered on your site?
Rachael

Levittown, NY

#175 Feb 10, 2013
Well, to be fair, I'm still able to log in well after a year when I signed, so I'll give credit for that. They need to update the listings way more often. A week ago the most recent casting was about 2 weeks expired. Just logged on now (2/10) and the most recent casting was from 5 days ago. The rest from January. They used to update it way more often.

I was gone with the military for a while, so I was unable to try and go to castings and/or contact them about a photo shoot.

Deborah: Hurricane Sandy was 4 months ago, and I haven't heard anything about you guys coming back to NYC. It's been about a year and a half. 2-12 months does not seem accurate at all. NYC recovers quickly, and after about 2-3 weeks was back to normal after the hurricane, so you can't really use that as an excuse.

Since: Mar 13

Jarrettsville, MD

#176 Apr 10, 2013
Keen is a rip off scam and the positive reviews on here that claim to be someone else are in fact made from Deborah herself. My opinion is she is a flaming bitch, rude, arragant and greedy. Rips people off for photos joke saying if they are done somewhere else they are no good. Puts down every agency except her own. This woman. Is a liar and had the worst case of God complex I've ever seen

Since: Mar 13

Jarrettsville, MD

#177 Apr 10, 2013
If anyone should be sued it is Deborah keen herself. Go to one of her sales pitches and laugh while she does nothing but talk highly of herself over and over, bashes all other agencies, says no possible way anyone could get a good photo unless you use her person, who convienently only charges under 400 bucks when it would normally be 1100. Also she talks about all the bad reviews on the Internet actually claiming a company places the bad reviews than tries to mske her pay 11 grand to remove them! This woman is truly insane.
anonymous1029384 7465

United States

#178 May 17, 2013
Deborah L Keen wrote:
<quoted text>
Dear Scammed and Scared;
Let me ask: Why are you scared? Scared of being held liable for your false statements which I have already contacted our corporate attorney to being the process of finding out your name to take legal action against you? Scared? As you sit behind a computer without giving your name and you chose to falsely accuse my agency of being a scam?
Your email does not even deserve an educated response as I do know that intelligent persons would not bother to pay attention to such ridiculousness.
Very Truly Yours,
Deborah L. Keen
CEO
The Keen Agency,Inc.
Dear Deborah,

First of all, if you read properly, it says "scarred," not "scared." You made yourself sound unintelligent. Secondly, I agree with this post. My wife applied for your agency and got accepted. She and I paid 350.00 to basically get some good pictures taken. No promotion, no calls, nothing. To any who read this post, it is a scam and nothing more.

Very sincerely,

Disappointed Husband of Customer
Taylor Lynn certified

Baltimore, MD

#179 Jun 7, 2013
My daughter taylor-Lynn sign with the keen model agency in 2012 no she have not had work yet but that not the agent it's up to the casting and audition crew , I would to see more jobs for kids her age but there are jobs for models that's older / taylor really love be around her new family they treat her very nice . She love her photographer
philadelphia

Plymouth Meeting, PA

#180 Jun 8, 2013
Taylor Lynn certified wrote:
My daughter taylor-Lynn sign with the keen model agency in 2012 no she have not had work yet but that not the agent it's up to the casting and audition crew , I would to see more jobs for kids her age but there are jobs for models that's older / taylor really love be around her new family they treat her very nice . She love her photographer
Sweetie it is the agent!! It is the agents job to get your daughter work. If she still hasnt gotten work than either shes not model material or the agent isnt doing their job. What Deb is doing is scamming everyone out of their money. I went her "hotel meeting" and it was a waste of time. She was late and talked mainly of herself but she doesnt work with principle work only hair shows and background work. Which is very low pay. I moved on and eventually my daughter was signed with Wilhelmina but they were giving her work in NY which was too far sometimes so she signed with Reinhard in philly. I DIDNT have to pay them any startup fees, website fees or use their photographer. She started getting auditions within 2 weeks and was booked twice within 1 month. You dont have to have experience as my daughter did not. Legit agencies told me its against the law for any agency to ask for money no matter what it is. They are not legit so move on. Best of luck!
Monica

Dallas, TX

#181 Jun 18, 2013
Yes she's a rip off. She talks a good talk but does nothing but take your money. She's not reputable. Sign with a real agency because her agency is not. Hair shows and that's about it. You have been warned.
Monica

Dallas, TX

#182 Jun 18, 2013
anonymous10293847465 wrote:
<quoted text>
Dear Deborah,
First of all, if you read properly, it says "scarred," not "scared." You made yourself sound unintelligent. Secondly, I agree with this post. My wife applied for your agency and got accepted. She and I paid 350.00 to basically get some good pictures taken. No promotion, no calls, nothing. To any who read this post, it is a scam and nothing more.
Very sincerely,
Disappointed Husband of Customer
She is a fraud. She needs to be reported to the BBB.
Ash

Dallas, TX

#183 Jun 21, 2013
Keenmeme wrote:
Dear Rachael;
I am very sorry that you are angry and I assure you that we "are" going to return to NYC. However, please keep in mind that you contacted us for your "free re-shoot" a couple of months ago.....As we explained, a couple of months ago NYC and the East Coast experienced Hurricane Sandy, which was quite devastating to NYC and many other areas on the coast. It was not the right time to hold an event or photo session as it would have been, quite honestly, in no ones best interest. Additionally, shortly after Hurricane Sandy, there was a large snow storm which also affected the area. Our open calls do cost our agency money for advertising, travel expense, meeting room rentals-which are very expensive in NYC, NY.
We are in the process of planning our next event in NYC, NY. We cannot control nature and we also have other factors to consider.
As for booking models in NYC... Ironically, we just booked a National skin care print ad for hand models with one of our models in NYC last week through Meltzger Media(if you matched what they were looking for 35-70 female--you would have been in our power point presentation which was submitted to their account executive. Also,we have had extensive opportunities for our models in NYC as well. The competition is very aggressive in NYC and we cannot control who companies hire or do not hire.
Yes, we do have models contacting us on facebook, telephone, twitter, email, etc.. daily wanting to sign with our agency. Also, we return to many cities every 2-12 months as needed. We are more concerned with booking the models we have and adding only when necessary, thus the reason why we offer a free photo session your second year upon request to give our models more of an opportunity.
I understand your frustration and when a person looks at a review from a competitor, angry model, etc... they tend to worry or become concerned. I truly wish you would have discussed this further with our agency and we would have been able to clear up any misconceptions which you may have had or still have.
Regardless of your posting, we are still more than willing and wanting to assist you in furthering your opportunities with our agency. Therefore, please do not feel any hesitation to call our office to communicate further.
We have only the very best intentions for all of our models and talent. Again, please feel comfortable contacting our office as I do know that many times people can write something negative out of frustration and it may not really be how they feel after our resolution to provide them with the attention we want to give to each person with our company.
Very Best,
Deborah L Keen
CEO
The Keen Agency, Inc.
1-877-781-3180
You will reap what you sow. You are misleading people. You will never be respected as someone said. You should be ashamed of yourself. Get a real job or do what's right. It sure is funny how you get so many people to sign with you knowing that you don't have Any pull in the fashion industry.
Austin Texas

Dallas, TX

#184 Jun 21, 2013
Evetything is true. She's a SCAM. Had to find out the hard way. No we are taking steps to expose her. God bless
kathy

Exton, PA

#185 Jul 12, 2013
She is a fraud - seems to me she is out of business as she is not responding to anyones calls, emails or messages.
lets keep it real

Silver Spring, MD

#186 Aug 28, 2013
We went to your open and were picked over two years ago we have heard nothing from your agency, we were promised updated pictures. I have contacted you by email and still nothing. Your website is confusing I called your agency to get help. At this point I am very disappointed
Kayla

Towanda, PA

#187 Nov 22, 2013
Hi,
A few months ago, I went to an open call for Keen Modeling, got accepted, and did the photo shoot. I am STILL waiting for the photos. All the phone numbers I have tried have been disconnected. I am very worried. I haven't been contacted in a few months after my photo shoot.

Kayla K.
nicole

Virginia Beach, VA

#188 Dec 18, 2013
The Keen Agency is a Fraud. I got picked out the bunch and took professional pictures the next day which I had to pay $350. After receiving my pictures in the mail. I haven't heard anything from them. I called, no answer. I emailed, no reply back. They are fake, they just want you to take pics with their photographer so they can get some money.
Think people think

Auburn, MA

#189 Dec 18, 2013
I dont get how so many people have gotten conned. If you where so beautiful and one of a kind, wouldnt they be paying you? Why would anyone think that paying for pics means they are getting "in" on the modeling industry from some company at the mall? A little common sense goes along way.
Nicole

Baltimore, MD

#190 Feb 4, 2014
They are definitely a scam, I paid them for my pictures and never heard from them again. If you can't see where their office is located, it's a scam.

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

Boylston Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
The Negro OfAmerica Is THE TRUE DECENDANTS of H... (Apr '12) 17 hr Judah Israel 9
17 arrests target 'Outlaws' (Nov '07) Thu smd 46
Fattman cries foul over defaced signs Wed Tammy 37
Review: Simmons Family Gutter & Window Cleaning Wed kurtcooksalot16 4
New book addresses legal issues for personal in... Oct 21 Gerald Vonberger 1
sexless marriage advice (Jan '12) Oct 21 LindaLouWho 103
Debate: Gay Marriage - Holden, MA (Jan '12) Oct 20 Brian_G 22

Boylston News Video

Boylston Dating
Find my Match

Boylston Jobs

Boylston People Search

Addresses and phone numbers for FREE

Boylston News, Events & Info

Click for news, events and info in Boylston

Personal Finance

Mortgages [ See current mortgage rates ]