wanting to know

London, KY

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 17, 2013

In case of a divorce if a husband and wife have seperate bank accounts does each one get to keep whatevers in their account?
really

Somerset, KY

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 17, 2013

wanting to know wrote:
In case of a divorce if a husband and wife have seperate bank accounts does each one get to keep whatevers in their account?
If you all agree you can if you fight and go to court I'm not sure. Go ahead and get it out what they don't have on paperwork they can't prove you have it
Sad Ending

Manchester, KY

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 17, 2013

wanting to know wrote:
in Kentucky; after you get married everything is 50/50, their is no such thing as separate. People often make the mistake of thinking by "not putting their spouses name on something" it makes it separate. I have been a paralegal in family law for 15 years. What I tell you, I know. However' all joint assets can be used in the divorce as trade offs so to speak. You keep yours he keeps his etc.. one gets the house the other pays one half to the other. etc. The settlement agreement is where you divide assets and the most important part of your divorce. I do not know if minor children are involved. But I do know in KY the laws for custody are totally in the Mothers corner. One of the few states like that. Good luck.
halfers

Somerset, KY

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 17, 2013

If this was the case from the beginning, it never was a marriage,it was an arrangement to become roommates.
Where was the commitment?
You dont start a marriage with what is mine is mine and yours is yours, you become one, his and hers becomes ours.

Anyone who suggests you keep yours , i'll keep mine is a selfish individual.
Jeepers

London, KY

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Mar 17, 2013

Sad Ending wrote: