I'm Considered The Prettiest Girl In ...

I'm Considered The Prettiest Girl In Ashland

Posted in the Ashland Forum

First Prev
of 5
Next Last

Kellie Stakes

“Catch A Bright Star”

Since: Dec 12

And Place It On Your Forehead

#1 Feb 5, 2013
Ashland

Kellie Stakes loves Ashland and it would seem that Ashland loves her.

The 22-year-old from Portsmouth was crowned Miss Ashland for the second time in three years yesterday. In 2009 she placed third, and in 2011 she was second.

As well as parading on stage in her purple bikini, Miss Stakes sang a song - a strong and polished a capella version of Hurt by Christina Aguilera.

Other contestants sang, played the cello, skipped and played the ukulele during the talent section of the competition, but the judges said Miss Stake's performance was just too good.

An SOMC worker by profession, Miss Stakes would like to become a professional singer.

"I want to do it professionally, I've always wanted it since I was little. I'm trying to pursue that dream at the moment, hopefully working with Sony Music soon and we're recording a demo at the moment, so hopefully that goes on to bigger things."

Miss Stakes, who was also named Miss Global Teen Huntington, WV in 2011, said she still felt nervous before taking to the stage.

"I was definitely nervous, backstage I was too nervous to come on stage but because I was last it kind of made it easier.

"Waiting for the results was scary as well, you never know what can happen."

First runner-up Amelia Borley sang a version of Feeling Good by Nina Simone, a capella. The 19-year-old art student from Marshall University was on holiday in Ashland with her family.

Second runner-up, Sophie-May Church from Greenup, KY, showed her skipping skills on stage. The 18-year-old trainee teacher placed second in a national skipping competition in Lexington, KY when she was younger but hasn't skipped competitively for over three years.