El Paso Municipal election: Today is ...

El Paso Municipal election: Today is last day for early voting

There are 4 comments on the El Paso Times story from May 9, 2011, titled El Paso Municipal election: Today is last day for early voting. In it, El Paso Times reports that:

If you're going to see a friend or family member graduate from UTEP or have other big plans on Saturday, you still have one last day to vote early in municipal and school district elections throughout the county.

Join the discussion below, or Read more at El Paso Times.

Vote Today Abe Peinado

El Paso, TX

#1 May 10, 2011
My Fellow El Pasoans,

First of all, I want to tell you I am not going to trash my city with yard signs.

I am a small businessman. I never planned to run for city council, but when our economy stalled and I read how city hall is spending our money, lack of services and high permit fees.... I thought I could help.

As an insurance expert, I have spent my career balancing budgets and helping El Pasoans save money in insuring their prized possessions. And as a conservative I think when our families are cutting back, government should cut back too.

Most El Pasoans are taxed by over 5 taxing entities. A tax increase is not on my agenda. Neither is creating a new one for public parks.

We need to make the environment at city hall, more business and citizen friendly, a public service place. I will push in that direction. We need a city government that we can go to for legitimate help. And let’s get back to city hall staying open 5 days a week. You work 5 days a week, our public servants should too.

During our recent winter storm we were an unprepared city. Our city was literally crippled. Our frail and elderly had no guidance.