Since: May 09

Wilmington, IL

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
Jun 10, 2013

DEAR AMY: My mother was involved with my father while he was "separated" from his wife.

When he found out she was pregnant, he went back to his wife. He stayed with his wife and had three more children. None of them know about me.

I met my father after I graduated from high school. We tried to have a relationship, but it ended quite badly many years ago, mainly because he wanted to keep his contact with me hidden from his wife and children.

I did not take well to being the family secret, and we have not spoken since.

I have now found my siblings on Facebook. They are all adults (18 to 24).

I think they should know about me, and I would like the opportunity to have them (but not their parents) in my life.

I'm afraid of how our father will react and am nervous to contact them. Do you think I should, and what's the best way to do so?-- Long-Lost Sister

DEAR LOST: Let's think this through. You contact these siblings on Facebook. You tell them, "I'm your long-lost sister. I'd like to have a relationship with you but not with your parents."

These siblings might feel very loyal to their folks and might not take kindly to your attempt to control this potentially fraught relationship from the outset. Most important, if you did this, your effort would likely fail.

The way to these siblings is not through social networking but through your father. You'll need to try again.

The tone of your query is punitive. Until you make peace with your biological father's ample failings, you will not be able to complete this important family circle and forge new relationships. The burden is on you to handle this carefully.

Let your father know that you intend to contact your siblings. And then ask for his help. If he refuses, then you'll have another decision to make.