First Prev
of 2
Next Last

“reign in blood”

Since: May 09

Wilmington, IL

#1 Jan 7, 2013
DEAR AMY: I'm a 23-year-old married college student who recently gave birth to a beautiful baby boy. My husband and I have been married for three years. My marriage is great, but my problem is my mother-in-law. We've always had a rocky relationship, but since giving birth to my son it has sunk to a new low.

She bad-mouths me to my husband and other people. She snoops in our belongings, thinks my husband should value her opinion/feelings more than mine, and simply doesn't understand boundaries or her role in our lives. She calls my husband childish nicknames even though he has asked her repeatedly to stop and treats both of us like children. Now that we have our son she continues to ignore our boundaries. She thinks she has every right to literally pull my son out of my arms without asking.

I'm not sure what to do anymore since I don't want my son around this kind of toxic behavior, and her ignoring our wishes just makes me avoid her as much as I can. I'm so angry and resentful that I'm ready to cut off all communication with her, which means cutting her off from my son as well. My husband understands my feelings and is frustrated with her. Please let me know what I should do.-- Completely Drained

DEAR DRAINED: Don't use your son as a tool with which to punish your mother-in-law. Start this process by building a very short "fence" between you.

You and your husband must state -- calmly and rationally and out of your child's presence -- your reasonable expectations and the consequences for not meeting them.