Fire damages Nepean store

Dec 11, 2009 Full story: Ottawa Citizen 64

Investigators were looking for clues Thursday after a fire at Nepean Windows & Patio Rooms Ltd.

Full Story
First Prev
of 4
Next Last
taken in

Ottawa, Canada

#1 Dec 12, 2009
check the owners to find the cause of the fire, I am a customer still waiting to hear from them about my deposit and windows on order. They are guilty as hell and a lot of us will be out thousands of dollars. Investigators are smart enough to figure this one out surely.
Brian Amirault

Toronto, Canada

#2 Dec 13, 2009
Please refer to "taken in". An original window order was placed in June. Although leaving messages weekly with the office staff for the owner (not in, not available, on another line...)requesting information on the order, none of these calls have been returned since October 13th. he has my deposit and I don't have my windows.
meagen

Hannon, Canada

#4 Jan 19, 2010
I am in the same boat. Promised windows in September- no sign of windows and they are not answering calls or letters. BEWARE!!
Roy

Toronto, Canada

#5 Jan 26, 2010
Apparently, Mr. Robertson is opening up a new company called Greenview Windows.

Here is the link, http://www.greenviewwindows.com

This would lead me to believe that many/all customers/suppliers/people owed money will not receive their money and/or deposits.

However at the site of the blaze there was a sign stating that they will be reopening in unit #8 on February 1, 2010 in the same plaza. Let everyone know and all show up demanding back our money. Also if Greenview is truly the new company, let everybody know to stay away. Spread the word!
Brian Amirault

Toronto, Canada

#6 Feb 1, 2010
Roy:

Greenview Windows is actually an exosting eastern Ontario firm making vinyl windows and associated products. Nepean Windows is now using them as a product supplier.

Just today I did leave a message inquiring after my window order placed in June. The call went immediately to voice mail but I did receive a message later int he day that my inquiry would be passed on to Mr Robertson. Perhaps I will hear from him tomorrow - I continue to hope.

Brian
look through the windows

Stittsville, Canada

#7 Feb 1, 2010
Using Greenview windows just like everyone else. Wonder who owns that???? Unit #8 used to be his brother's shop...still using that too.

Hope Mr Robertson received all of these comments...maybe it would change things. Doubt it. Good luck.
Unhappy Customer

Ottawa, Canada

#8 Feb 7, 2010
Seem to have lost the thread of blogs from late Nov./early Dec. I have since had a crack in an one of my 2009 new Oran windows - they have said they will manufacture a new unit and install it within a few weeks - so people don't need to worry about their warranties.

Wonder what the results of the fire investigation were, anyone know?- if the insurance pays out then we may get our windows or deposits - maybe with a little luck.

Has anyone been out to Unit 8 to talk with staff? I may try this week.

Must be trying to fix the reputation problem associated with the name Nepean but opening the new company.
carsarphe

Ottawa, Canada

#9 Feb 7, 2010
I to wondered what happened to all the blogs. It seems strange that others from back to 2007 are still there- on other subjects - but regarding Nepean Doors and windows, they all disappeared. I think they have left Oron for whatever reason and are now being supplied by Greenview Windows. Not sure that they own that business, could just be a new supplier. I will keep checking back here to see if anyone has any answers.
meagen

Hannon, Canada

#10 Feb 8, 2010
I received a note from the Better Business Bureau today saying they had had no response from the company (Nepean) after several attempts to contact them. I don't think they have any intention of honouring committments or returning deposits. Is there nothing we can do about this?
look through the windows

Stittsville, Canada

#11 Feb 13, 2010
he owns another business at unit #8 Furniture Affairs...check it out
ron

Ottawa, Canada

#12 Mar 30, 2010
My contract for windows dates to August 2009. Repeated calls in Oct to inquire about installation brought no response. Because of the fire I then waited till last week. A receptionist did answer and said she would pass on my request to find out about the windows. After a week of no response I called again and had the same experience. Obviously making a complaint to the Better Business Bureau isn't going to have much effect since the company already has an F rating. Perhaps going to the Provincial Consumer Services Office [1-800-889-9768] might help OR going to small claims court.
order complete

Ottawa, Canada

#13 Mar 30, 2010
We ordered our windows in sept and they failed to arrive as well as return our phone calls. However, we did meet with the owner, Bob, after the fire and he made commitments to have the windows installed early in the New Year but from Farley Windows. They are now in.
My recommendations, do not call but go directly to the office. If no satisfaction call Farley and ask if they are supplying Nepean with windows and explain your conern..maybe the manager at farley can exert some pressure..good luck!
Pedro

Brampton, Canada

#14 May 18, 2010
not honest people you are dealing with here.

Call avoidance, delays, empty promises

tell all your friends to go elsewhere if they want
satisfaction, service and delivery.

company has to be in trouble financially.
Mapleleaf

Ottawa, Canada

#15 Jun 16, 2010
We have recently had installation problems with our Grenview windows from Nepean Windows. We were trying to resolve the problems with Mr. Robertson but as of today the phone number and fax number are no longer in service.

Have they gone bankrupt?
Live in Nepean

Ottawa, Canada

#16 Jun 16, 2010
Mapleleaf wrote:
We have recently had installation problems with our Grenview windows from Nepean Windows. We were trying to resolve the problems with Mr. Robertson but as of today the phone number and fax number are no longer in service.
Have they gone bankrupt?
When did they install windows for you, it's too late for me to see this forum, I paid a deposit for windows installation sometime in May 2010. I noticed their phone is gone today.

Thanks
Mapleleaf

Ottawa, Canada

#17 Jun 17, 2010
Live in Nepean wrote:
<quoted text>
When did they install windows for you, it's too late for me to see this forum, I paid a deposit for windows installation sometime in May 2010. I noticed their phone is gone today.
Thanks
They installed our windows the second week of June.
Mapleleaf

Ottawa, Canada

#18 Jun 17, 2010
Mapleleaf wrote:
<quoted text>
They installed our windows the second week of June.
We paid our deposit April 16th and our windows were installed June 7th. The installation was poorly executed and one of the windows is bowed (a curve in the bottom of it). If you check out the Better Business Bureau you will see they have a rating of F (lowest mark you can get)and there are numerous complaints against them. I found this out too late!
Live in Nepean

Ottawa, Canada

#19 Jun 20, 2010
Mapleleaf wrote:
<quoted text>
We paid our deposit April 16th and our windows were installed June 7th. The installation was poorly executed and one of the windows is bowed (a curve in the bottom of it). If you check out the Better Business Bureau you will see they have a rating of F (lowest mark you can get)and there are numerous complaints against them. I found this out too late!
Thanks for your info.
Rick

Ottawa, Canada

#20 Sep 9, 2010
I purchased windows from Nepean months ago, and they have been installed on time as they said they would. Bob Roberston took very good care of me.
I can understand people being upset about not getting their orders, but you must understand they had a total loss due to the fire and have been to the best of my knowledge attempting to make good on all their past customers waiting for their orders meanwhile trying to rebuild their business. I am a business owner for 20 years and do sympathsize with any one going through what these people had to face. They appear to me to be very much in business and busy. I had no issues with their service what soever. They were professional, timely and over all good folk who served my window requirements well. I am very happy with their service and the "Green View Windows" in my home. they are everything they said they were. I did ask them for referrals before making my decision and they glady gave them to me. I found through a colleague at work that recommended their services. I hope those on this forum that feel they have been taken or mis-lead get their issues resolved. The BBB claims they have resolved 16 matters out of the 23 complaints. These people at Nepean windows should be commended for trying to help their customers that may be waiting still for their products. Not be ridiculed or be giving a bad reputation or "F" rating. I wish them great success. As a professional business owner who has been through hard times and knocks of my own. People should not be so quick to judge others.
I would highly recomend Nepean Windows to anyone that asked me.
R.K.
John

Ottawa, Canada

#21 Sep 9, 2010
What is this nonsense about Nepean Windows, I bought windows from them years ago. All was good. I just had some new windows installed by them in my new home. Their service and price was excellent. Their new Sales Manager "Mr. Kelly Searson" was prompt, patient with my requirements and even came to my house after the fact to ensure I was happy with their service and product. He even brought out Mr. Bob Robertson to ensure all the measurments and any other materials required were taken care of properly. They treated me with kindness, and made it easy for me to make a decision to buy from them. I recommend them to anyone looking for windows for their home.

John P.

Tell me when this thread is updated:

Subscribe Now Add to my Tracker
First Prev
of 4
Next Last

Add your comments below

Characters left: 4000

Please note by submitting this form you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

Ottawa Discussions

Title Updated Last By Comments
Two Corrections employees among 29 people arres... 9 hr OPP 1
Two Corrections employees among 29 people arres... Sun cam 1
Brockville General Hospital maternity departmen... Feb 27 One 1
Ontario Health Study building databank to track... Feb 25 freethinkradio do... 1
High Speed Rail Canada Social in Ottawa Februar... Feb 22 jimmydodgie 1
Horny Feb 18 awesomesauce17 3
Lisa MacLeod, Ontario MPP, won't run to replace... Feb 18 real info vs fiction 1
More from around the web

NFL Latest News

Updated 8:14 pm PST