Best area to live in ottawa?

Posted in the Ottawa Forum

First Prev
of 5
Next Last
Nina

Greens Harbour, Canada

#1 Aug 19, 2009
hey readers, i'm a 29 year old dentist from toronto. i am moving to ottawa very soon and would like to know the best areas of the city to live in. by "best area" i mean the those areas with the lowest crime rates and those with mostly upper-middle class people. i have a pretty good idea of the bad areas of the city (bayshore, south keys, vanier, general downtown area, etc). However, i don't really have an opinion on the remaining areas. i know rockcliffe is considered a low crime/affluent area, however i was wondering if you guys could list more? be as thorough as possible ....thanks!

nina
UCantType

Ottawa, Canada

#2 Aug 23, 2009
The best place to live in Ottawa is outside the city of Ottawa. Ottawa is a dump. The only thing Ottawa has going for it, is that is isn't Toronto.
Kanata

Scarborough, Canada

#3 Aug 23, 2009
Kanata is pretty good. It is the west end of Ottawa. You may also want to ask this question here:

http://OttawaHomeBuilders.Net/Forums

-good Luck
UCantType

Ottawa, Canada

#4 Aug 24, 2009
Kanata sucks. One of the worst examples of urban planning I've ever seen. Horrible infrastructure. Ever tried driving around the Kanata Centrum? What kind of idiot designs a mall that you have to drive to the store next door so you don't get run down walking there?

Oh, and the vandalism in Kanata! I won't even go there. Bad people, bad planning.
Somali

Waterloo, Canada

#5 Sep 8, 2009
Where in Ottawa are the most somalis? I am somali and I will only live with my people
Kat

Calgary, Canada

#6 Sep 18, 2009
Like Nina, my boyfriend and I are going to be moving to Ottawa in the near future and are looking for "good" character areas for a professional couple with a young family... Any suggestions?
Truthteller

Ottawa, Canada

#7 Sep 24, 2009
Somali wrote: