Local News: Seattle, WA 

 | 

Sign Up

 | 

Sign In

legitimate publishing offer?

Posted in the Publishing Forum

Read

82 Comments

More Publishing Discussions »

Comments

Showing posts 1 - 20 of82
< prev page
|
Go to last page| Jump to page:
curiouswriter

Walhalla, SC

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#1
Jul 2, 2008
 
New here...but had a quick question. I just received an unsolicited email from a group called "VDM Verlag Dr. Müller AG & Co. KG." out of Germany offering to publish a book of mine.

Does anyone know if this publisher is legit or if there's a way I can do some homework on them?

Thanks in advance
singh

Saskatoon, Canada

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#2
Jul 3, 2008
 
Hi curiouswriter, I got the same email too from same publishing company. Please post on this forum if you get any further on their search.

Thanks
wondering

Saskatoon, Canada

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#3
Jul 3, 2008
 
I also got the same email.

Not sure if you've seen this, but I found their website...

http://www.vdm-publishing.com/index.php...
Another curious writer

Omaha, NE

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#4
Jul 14, 2008
 
I too received an unsolicited for a manuscript I've published. Does anyone know if it's a good lead? I looked at the internet sight, and anyone can put together an internet website.
a little suspicious

Dubuque, IA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#5
Jul 17, 2008
 
I too just received this email. I'm rather doubting the legitimacy of it or believing that there's a hitch to it after seeing that they seem to have just been doing massive internet searches for manuscripts since July 1.
one more

Mexico, Mexico

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#6
Jul 17, 2008
 
I too received the same email.

From their website one can link to Amazon (and other sites) and see their catalogue, which seems quite large. So it seems they are legitimate and are looking at doctoral dissertation databases in order to find new material. One wonders about their review process ... If anyone pursues this further can you keep us appraised of your findings?
Seattle WA

Arvada, CO

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#7
Jul 21, 2008
 
I got the same email - supposedly wanting to publish a book from my dissertation. It seems pretty suspicious to me...
Me too

Lincoln, NE

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#8
Jul 21, 2008
 
Count me in as receiving this email, unsolicited. I contacted a prof I trust about it and the following is her response:
I suspect the e-mail
you received was not a scam. I've heard of this
publisher (used to get regular catalogs from them
when I was the reviews ed. for JAMS). Since
they evidently found your university e-mail
address, it would not hurt to reply and get
more information from them. If they want *you*
to pay to publish it, forget about it! And it
goes without saying that they don't get any
additional personal info from you. But it may
well be that they are just interested in your
research, and who could complain about a book
publication! Good luck--do let me know what you
learn.
So perhaps I'll proceed to investigate, with caution and skepticism. I think my biggest concern would be giving away publishing rights I currently own. Not that anyone is beating down the door...
another

Los Angeles, CA

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#9
Jul 21, 2008
 
Just got the same ...
Add me too

North Haven, CT

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#10
Jul 22, 2008
 
I received the same email solicitation (7/20)
yet again

Buenos Aires, Argentina

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#11
Jul 22, 2008
 

Judged:

1

It is a legitimate publishing house but if you are an academic on tenure-track, this house likely will not cut it at most universities, esp. research ones. In other words, I am an Assist. Professor and would not for the life of me publish my manuscript with these people. I would however possibly use this house to publish something only if my career were not at stake. In sum, tenure evalutation committees probably would view this house as inadequate, esp. as it comes from continental Europe (Brill excepted) where the editing process is in general though not always much less rigorous than in the US or UK.
oldfud

Rochester, MN

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#12
Jul 24, 2008
 
I, too, received this same request. My advisor gives the same advice as above, "If they want you to pay, then don't go there." I am interested to see any responses any of you receive if you pursue this.
DR TLM

Birmingham, AL

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#13
Jul 28, 2008
 
I have found the company website.

http://www.vdm-publishing.com/
I am reading it now. It looks to be legit. If not, they have taken a very long time to put together a good fake website.
Debashis Houston

Portland, OR

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#14
Jul 28, 2008
 
I got the same offer today asking my email address for publishing my dissertation. But i dont see any publishing house in google with this name. Anyone can enlight about this?
George Nyombaire

East Lansing, MI

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#15
Aug 5, 2008
 
I, too, received the same request but I'm still kind of iffy about replying these guys.
Reg

Fairhope, AL

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#16
Aug 7, 2008
 
Received the invite too. Has anyone out there participated in this arrangement?
Falinda

Grand Rapids, MI

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#17
Aug 19, 2008
 
I received the same invitation today and would love to hear from anyone who has actually taken them up on their offer.
Me as well Washington DC

Washington, DC

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#18
Aug 20, 2008
 
Yet another unsolicited publishing offer....I doubt this is legitimate. We all know the protocol and processes for getting published....this is certainly not it
Heather

Lexington, KY

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#19
Aug 21, 2008
 
I have also just received this offer to publish my dissertation. Has anybody gone through with it or heard of anybody who has actually published with them?
browsing

Taunton, UK

|
Report Abuse
|
Judge it!
|
#20
Sep 3, 2008
 
Hi there - been researching it as I got the meail too - great thread, some posts by people who have pubished with them - sounds legit, but a publish-to-order commercial outfit without much academic credibility:

http://chronicle.com/forums/index.php/topic,4...

Tell me when this thread is updated:
(Registration is not required)

Add to my Tracker

Send me an email

Showing posts 1 - 20 of82
< prev page
|
Go to last page| Jump to page:
Type in your comments below
Name
(appears on your post)
Comments
Characters left: 4000
Type the numbers you see in the image on the right:

Please note by clicking on "Post Comment" you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and the comment you are posting is in compliance with such terms. Be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed by the moderator. Send us your feedback.

24 Users are viewing the Publishing Forum right now

Search the Publishing Forum:
Topic Updated Last By Comments
Amnesty proposal for illegal immigrants getting... 3 hr ima- Ilis Myka Ashanti 111
Human Rights Watch outraged by video of Syrian ... 13 hr Syrian 13
Martha Stewart products hit the shelves at J.C.... Fri lrr 9
Forgetting Watergate's lesson Thu CanDictators Be Impeached 1
Four Pinocchios for Obama on Benghazi terror claim May 15 FormerParatrooper 9
Angelina Jolie's double mastectomy: Q&A May 14 genesORenviorment 4
Sources: KTVK drops 'Good Morning Arizona' pers... (Mar '09) May 14 GinaLover 381

Daily Horoscope for May 18

Scorpio

Forget about following convention and saying what's expected of you today. Instead, have the guts to speak from the heart and say what you think, even if that means sounding unconventional or weird. So what? Let people think what they like about you. Besides, you could be pleasantly surprised when you discover that there are some kindred spirits who agree with every word you say.

Get your Horoscope »