Do black guys who don't act "black" h...

Do black guys who don't act "black" have a better chance at interracial dating?

Posted in the African-American Forum

First Prev
of 2
Next Last
Devin

Forsyth, GA

#1 Mar 9, 2014
So hey I'm a black guy who doesn't act "black". Whatever that means, I've been called out numerous times for not doings so too. I've also been called a Oreo, because I don't speak like a gangster or listen to much hip hop. Basically, I'm a web developer and dress like a prep or in stuff Aero, AE, Abercombie, Gap, Rue/Forever 21, etc.
Well to be honest I guess you could say I act like a white boy.
I know some people don't like black people, but I think it's mainly because of stereotypes that I don't fit so I think I might have a harder time.
Thanks for any help!

“Repent and worship God”

Since: Jul 13

Location hidden

#2 Mar 9, 2014
Devin wrote:
So hey I'm a black guy who doesn't act "black". Whatever that means, I've been called out numerous times for not doings so too. I've also been called a Oreo, because I don't speak like a gangster or listen to much hip hop. Basically, I'm a web developer and dress like a prep or in stuff Aero, AE, Abercombie, Gap, Rue/Forever 21, etc.
I know some people don't like black people, but I think it's mainly because of stereotypes that I don't fit so I think I might have a harder time.
Thanks for any help!
Just be yourself!
Devin

Forsyth, GA

#3 Mar 9, 2014
@Phoenix Ascended

Thanks, this is pretty much who I am.
KIP

San Francisco, CA

#5 Mar 9, 2014
Devin wrote:
Thanks for any help!
Whatever you do be yourself.

You are under no obligation to "act black" for some people any more than you have to look white for white people. You are who who you are. If others cannot accept you for who you are, then move on away from those types. Gravitate to those not threatened by your presence and like who you choose to be.

“Repent and worship God”

Location hidden

#6 Mar 10, 2014
Devin wrote:
@Phoenix Ascended