44°F | 24°F
Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Wellsburg, WV or anywhere in the US.
Recent Crime News
West Virginia DUI Question
5 years ago I was charged with DUI in WV. The charges were reduced to reckless driving. I got a letter from the WV DMV saying I had to take classes. When I called they said since I was a PA resident that I would have to call PA DMV to see what they wanted me to do. When I called PA they said they had no record of it so as far as they were concerned I didnt have to take any classes. I just moved to Ohio and tried to get a new licence but was flagged by WV. Will I have to take the classes and if so will I be able to take them somewhere in Ohio?
Every State has conditions on obtaining a license. Driving is considered a "privilege," not a "right" and as a result,...
If I was given an underage consmption ticket, and the BAC was impossibly high, >.5, could I get off of the ticket on that fact?
So I recently recieved a ticket for underage consumption. The ticket is for a whopping $550. When I was breathalyzed I blew a .5 and on the ticket he put .5. Obviously this is impossible. If I blew a .5 I wouldn't have to worry about the fine because I would be dead. I was given a court date this thursday. Could I get this dismissed simply on the fact that the breathalyzer was obviously malfunctioning? Any other advice?
First, a BAC of .5 isn't impossible. I've seen them over .7. Second, if cross-examined, the officer will almost...
Can someone please help me get my license and all my money back from these bogus charges
This still contains to the first situation about the DUI case I got screwed over on. If someone would please contact me or give me a contact number I can give a better statement of my situation. I appealed DMV case, went to court at DMV, officer shows up at hearing lying and when I called him on it he jumped up out of his chair and said, im done here. Through his folder on the table and walked out of the court room and left in his patrol car. We was only about 10-15 minutes into the hearing when he went storming out threatening me at the same time and they didnt even throw it out over his actions they found me guilty 3 months later and took my license. Now after going through everything they ask me to do I violated their program because I drove a frinds car 1/2 a mile into town to help out another friend and got pulled over and arrested for not having the interlock device in that vehichle. If judge Jenkins from the Preston County WV court house is correct I shouldnt have been put on yhe program to begain with because the DMV illegally revoked my license in the first place because I represented myself in their court room instead of hiring a lawyer. Please help me and be rewarded
No one will contact you from this site unless you first contact them. You can use the find a lawyer tab to locate...
How can I find out if have a clean driving record when my dui was dismissed is court
If my first dui was dismissed in court (arresting officer was a no show ) will my driving record be clean?
Should be. Get a copy of your driving record from the DMV.
I received an underage, Is there an expungement process for this? And what else do I need to do to prepare for my court summon?
I am an 18 year old Maryland resident who was visiting a friend in West Virginia when I received an "underage consumption of alcohol". I have a municipal court summon and am wondering whether if this will affect my record and if so is there an expungement process? And also what are the possible consequences I face?
If you plead guilty or no contest to public intox in WV, it will remain on your record and is not eligible to be expunged.
Will I have to take DUI classes. After getting my second DUI over 3 years or can I just go to DMV and take the driving test and
Need to get driver license
The classes are a mandatory component in WV no matter the time lapse, and must be taken in person at an approved course....
Can I fight a DUI Suspension that was not turned in as a DUI. The charge was Driving on a suspended 1st offense.
I was stopped and charged with Driving on a Suspended 2nd offences in April of 2015. In August I had a hearing and the charges were dropped to Driving on a Suspended 1st offense. Now three months later, I get a notice from the West Virginia DMV stating that my license will be suspended for 1 year for DUI. While my BAC was .05 which is under the legal BAC of .08 in West Virginia there was not charge for DUI even discussed. I have talked with the arresting officer who also agreed that there was no DUI charge and that it was only driving on a suspended 1st offense that was turned in to the DMV. I attempted to explain to her that the charge was not DUI but she would not listen. I moved to Orlando Florida just after the hearing. I am just at a loss as to what I can do.
Generally speaking, DMV and court aren't the same, that's why you can be charged in one and not the other, for most...
Ads by Glam
Explore More Topix
Comments made yesterday: 39,477 • Total comments across all topics: 267,149,748
Copyright © 2016 Topix LLC