Vineyard Haven Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Vineyard Haven, MA or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Vineyard Haven Law

My driver's liscence was suspended in 2003 for DUI for 2 yrs. I did not attempt to reinstate it. This was prior to Melanie's Law
My mother is 88 and not well. She is no longer able to drive. She has MD visits she needs to go to. Is there any way for me to get my liscence reinstated at this time? I am under treatment for cancer myself & would only need to drive during daylight hours. I have no $ to install a breathelizer in my Mom's car.I have not had alcohol in almost 10 years. Please advise.
you should have been able to reinstate your license by now unless your are suspended in another state.
I have been charged with an OUI DRUGS AND LEAVING THE SCENE FROM PROPERTY DAMAGES. The police didn't arrest me, I was taken to the hospital and a few days later received a criminal summons which I mailed back asking for a hearing. I was under ambien a new prescribed medication from my doctor. Unknowingly I grabbed the keys and my two children and we're heading to the pharmacy and I hit a light pole down the street. I called my sister to the scene, once she arrived I told her I was not feeling well and crossed the street (accident happened a few houses down) and when I got to my driveway i fainted. In the hospital they found alcohol in my system which I don't recall drinking nor grabbing my keys or anything that happened.
Failing to appear in court when summoned can result in a warrant. In a case such as the one you describe it is...
MA won't release my dl til Fl does, yet Fl won't release it til MA does. What do I do?
Read this then re-read my question in order to see how I am in a checkmate position with my issue. I was a resident of Florida, moved to MA got a dl up there. Later moved back to Florida and got a dui on my Fl dl shortly after. It's been about 6yrs now and I'm trying to get my dl back. I'm being told MA is holding my dl because of my dui in Fl. Fl is willing to issue me a letter of reprieve but this will do me no good since MA won't let the hold go. I'm told I need a review hearing in order to determine if I have to do anything else for MA yet my dui had nothing to do with MA. How do I get my dl back and if I need a lawyer do I hire one here in Fl or one in MA? Also everything that is required of me to get my dl back in Fl will be completed in the next 2weeks so the letter of reprieve is
You sound like you definitely need a lawyer to help you address what can be a complicated process. If you are looking...
Can I file a motion to terminate my DUI probation on my own? OR do I need a representative?
I want to file a motion with the court to terminate my probation, my lawyer who did not win the case is asking for more money which I cannot afford, can I file such motion myself?
Terminating your probation early? Once the "end date" is reached the probation terminates by operation of the terms of...
How can the registry suspend a driver license, when you never had one
My son was arrested when he was 17 for minor in possession of alcohol, the dmv assigned him a license number, he never even applied for a license.
That's how the registry keeps track of people with incidents, but no license, such as minors and people from other...
Can I get denied employment due to a CWOF from a DUI?
One year ago I was placed on a CWOF for a DUI in Massachusetts. Since then, everything has been taken care of: I completed all my classes, paid all my fines, got off probation, and everything was dismissed. Fast forward to now- I was offered and accepted a new job, pending a background check. It's taking a while to hear back about it (about a week), and I'm wondering if the CWOF is going to ruin my chances of this job? It's for a retail store, so nothing too serious like childcare or law enforcement or anything like that.
Since 2012, when Governor Patrick pushed through CORI reform [much to his credit], people with CWOFs have been able to...
DUI/Refused Breathalyzer/Hardship Lic/MASS
DUI, first offense in Mass. Lawyer says I can get a CWOF. Refused the breathalyzer. My question is, how much money am I going to have to spend up front JUST get my hardship license? Also, for the alcohol class, will they let you pay in increments?
You will not need to pay everything up front. It averages out to $115 per month for a first offense. Registry will...