Van Wert Crime

Van Wert Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Van Wert, OH or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Van Wert Law

I got pulled over for following to closely. I was arrested because I failed the field sobriety test,
because of having Multiple sclerosis. I just had a pipe in my car. I had a public defender that helped me as much as a goat could. The judge suspended my license for a year along with $1560 in fines. Can I hire a lawyer to help me with this?
You might think about hiring an attorney to appeal if an appeal is at all possible.
What is the possible sentencing for a 2nd DUI charge? My first was in Indiana, and the second in Ohio.
I go to court in 2 weeks for OVI and DUS in Van Wert, Ohio. I'm an Indiana resident and was on probation for my first DUI in Indiana when I was arrested in OH. I pled guilty to the probation violation in IN and received 270 days of house arrest that I'm now serving. If I pay the maximum on the fine in OH could the prosecutor lower the jail time, probation, or classes? Is a $1600 fine and 60 days in jail and license suspension a reasonable sentence to request if probation and classes are dropped? My BAC was .10 and .104 respectively for my DUI offenses and was arrested Aug 2013 and convicted Nov 2013 for the first one. I would like to just do 30-60 days in jail, a license suspension, and pay a fine and be done with it. Is this possible to avoid probation and classes?
This is an odd question. Most people would rather do probation and classes than go to jail. In any event, on a...
Is a pbt proof in court for an underage consumption?
I was at a party that got busted and I took one pbt and the cop said that machine was broken (didn't show me what it read) then made me take another and i blew a .012 but I was never taken to the station to do the other bac test.
The PBT just generally confirms what the office is already observing and can testify to without the PBT. It aso helps...
Physical control still considered an OVI
I was charged with an OVI last Nov 2010 and it was suppose to be lowered to a Physical Control with a 1 year license suspension since I refused. Well the year has pased and I just recieved a letter from the BMV that states what I need to do to get my license back including: File of SR22, Remedial Driving Course, and Driver License Exam, as well as the $475 reinstatement fee. My question is that on the letter that I just recieved it says "First OVI". I was under the impression that it was lowered to physical control. Can anyone clear this up? Does a charge of physical control still mean an OVI to the BMV and is an OVI on my record or should it say on the letter physical control and no OVI on my record?
Physical Contol is a separate statute Ohio Revised Code Section 4511.194 The length of suspension is determined by...
I got a dui in state of my ky in 2008 how can tx. Try to suspend me after 9yrs
I was on way to hospital my pick up run out of gas. I wasn't even in the truck but was charged with dui got 6month suspension had to got to a 72hr class for drug and alcohol and was in jail for 2days and had to pay $30restatement fee for my and 125 for state of ohio to get my cdl reinstated now after 9yrs Texas is trying to suspend for a yr
Something is missing. Contact DMV to find out what is going on.
Can you be charged with refusing OVI test when you have no memory of refusing after a serious accident?
My brother was involved in an accident(OVI) and hit a tree and was ejected from the vehicle via the windshield. He suffered a severely broken leg in two places. Snapped both bones in two right below the knee and snapped both bones above the ankle, in addition he fractured his wrist and clavicle and also had seven fractured ribs, also multiple lacerations to the face and head. He has no memory of the accident whatsoever. Currently still in the hospital. He was cited by the Ohio State Patrol for OVI with test refusal and said also refused to sign the citation. Would a person who suffered this type of trauma to the body and head be of sound mind and body to make such a decision? Could shock play a roll in this?
Yes, you can be charged with a refusal even if you don't remember but it doesn't mean you can't fight it.
Is it possible to get a DUI in Tenn and move to ohio
His wife kicked him out because she drinks all the time. He isn't and she's upset about that and has kicked him out of the house. He has friends and family in Ohio to help him finish whatever he needs to do. How do we go about doing this if it's possible?
Was he convicted of the OVI? If so, he needs to contact his probation officer as soon as possible and get his/her...