Tualatin Crime

Crime, law and justice, and police blotter near Tualatin, OR or anywhere in the US.

Recent Crime News

Tualatin Law

What can I do when I've been told installing an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) in my hybrid vehicle cannot be performed safely?
I am in the middle of a DUII diversion case in WA county and just had my license reinstated. I made an appointment at a highly reputable, local IID shop and took in my electric/gasoline hybrid vehicle with push-button-start. An hour later, after taking the whole interior of the car apart, the shop manager informed me that the installation would require permanent damage/modifications to the vehicle. He also said that the installation may pose a safety issue, so he didn't feel comfortable completing it and refunded my money. A quick Google search has 0 results matching "hybrid IID installation". I'm reluctantly seeking a second opinion from another IID shop, due to concerns about honesty/transparency. Do I have to sacrifice the safety and integrity of my only car for this installation?
If you want a restricted license, you'll have to get an IID. This is the requirement for people who drive drunk, are...
I was charged with DUii the first time and I didn't have any other charges beside this one, but I'm only 19 years old.
Can I be eligible for diversion program? And if so, after completing the program I will not have a DUii on my record, or have is that work?
Generally, a first DUII will get a person eligible for diversion. However, not all first-time DUII's are eligible, such...
Is this just a clerical error or what can I do about it?
I was charged with a DUII in Oregon. I went to my arraignment this past Monday and there was a statement on that piece of paper they give you that stated the State is objecting to Diversion because of a 2007 DUII conviction. First of all, that isn't me. This is my first DUII not my second. I spoke to the public defenders meadator and he said I needed to get an attorney to clear this all up, but why would they put someone elses wrap sheet in my file? Is this just a common mistake?
These types of mistakes are not "common," but they happen too often. As a former prosecutor, I can state that the...
What are the possible penalties for violating probation on a first time DUI, in WA State?
My son-in-law had a DUI in WA State in Feb 2010. Four months later, he was charged with DV and possession of pot (very small amount). He was at home (and was intoxicated) when this occurred, and the incident was minor. He did not strike my daughter, but held her wrists during a heated argument. That was enough. The DV was ultimately reduced to disorderly conduct, and final disposition was no jail time, no probation and a fine. Assuming fairly standard probation terms from his Feb DUI, what can he expect when he faces the court to answer for the DUI probation violation? Note: He has not had a drink in almost 6 months now, and has several character statements, as well as the support of his wife (my daughter). He is represented. Thanks.
This is a question about Washington, but you put it in the Oregon section. I'd try again in the Washington section.
I was charged but not arrested for duii and reckless driving in oregon. What should I do next?
I consented to a breathalyzer and a urine test then was taken to the precinct took the tests and was released. There were no passengers in the vehicles I struck and I blew a 0.04.
Sounds like you were arrested but not charged. Report the accident to your insurance carrier. Be truthful with them...
If my conviction says my license is suspended 3 years, how can the DMV now say it is a 5 year?
In 2010 I was convicted of DUI, Assault 3, and Failure to perform duties as a driver. I did time and received a 3 year DMV suspension. I got out Aug 19, 2012. I waited one full year and I applied for a hardship license. I followed all the steps and was approved. In 2013, I am POSITIVE it was only for two years. In a couple days it will be two years on hardship with NO infractions. I called them today and they said I have another year of hardship and 3 additional years with an SR22. DMV quoted § 809.411¹ (C). Are they right? I am POSITIVE when I went through the process it was only for two years.
If you received a three suspension I assume the enhanced suspension was due to you having a previous conviction in the...
I blew a 0.07 on a breathalyzer. Do you suggest a lawyer for the hearing? What are my chances of dismissal if I don't get one?
Legal breathalyzer limit is 0.08 in OR. I just got off a 16-hour shift and had 2 beers. I was dog-tired, not intoxicated, when I was given the sobriety tests. I have astigmatism so my eyes will jerk with a light directed at them. I also have ADHD so I have difficulty following multiple instructions so I failed the Walk-&-Turn test which is hard to pass even with no alcohol. If I arm myself with documentation of my 16-hour shift, astigmatism, and ADHD, what are my chances of getting my case dismissed at the hearing if I represented myself? I really can’t afford a lawyer and would like to slay this dragon at the onset. Do you have any other suggestions? Would you advise my writing a letter to the judge or DA? Thank you!
I am not licensed in Oregon, so out of respect for any experienced DUI attorney from Oregon who may respond to your...